Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Tue Nov 12
Final
84 Denison
77 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Fri Nov 15
Final
47 Anderson (Ind.)
71 vs. Denison
@ Wilmington, Ohio (Hermann Court) in Wilmington, Ohio
Sat Nov 16
Final
81 Denison
75 at Wilmington (Ohio)
in Wilmington, Ohio - Damon's/Hampton Inn Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Wed Nov 20
Final
50 John Carroll
67 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 22
Final
91 Denison
33 at JWU (Denver)
in Denver, Colo.
Sat Nov 23
Final
53 Denison
62 at Colorado Col.
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Sat Nov 30
Final
65 Wittenberg
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
Final
75 Denison
72 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
Final - 3OT
72 Denison
79 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 11
Final
57 Kenyon
47 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 28
7:00 PM
Trine
vs. Denison
@ Otterbein in Westerville, Ohio
Sun Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 04
2:00 PM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
1:00 PM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
6:00 PM
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 29
6:00 PM
Hiram
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
2:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
2:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
8:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Beal leads Big Red in Wilmington Tip-Off opener

Zyah Beal  |  Photo by Levi Rex
Zyah Beal | Photo by Levi Rex

WILMINGTON, Ohio – Thanks to 17 points from junior Zyah Beal, Denison women's basketball opened the Damon's/Hampton Inn Tip-Off Tournament with a 71-47 victory over Anderson University on Friday evening at the Fred Raizk Arena in Wilmington, Ohio. The win sends the Big Red to the championship game on Saturday at 3 p.m. against tournament host Wilmington College.

Denison took control of the night with 38 points in the paint while forcing 26 Anderson turnovers. Also receiving 29 points from their bench, the Big Red opened the game with a 21-11 lead in the first quarter, highlighted by nine points and three steals from Beal. DU ended the quarter on a 13-2 scoring run that saw the likes of Beal, Lauren Hofer, Alison Schafer, and Shonta Lockett enter the scoring column.

In the second frame, the Ravens trimmed their deficit to 23-30 with 3:51 remaining in the half, but three Anderson turnovers turned into buckets for Beal, Lockett, and Schafer as Denison entered the break with a 36-23 advantage.

In the second half, the Big Red ended the third quarter on a 22-10 scoring run thanks to nine combined points off the bench from Lauren Turner and Lauren Longbrake, while Hofer ended the frame with a three-pointer to extend the DU lead to 60-38.

The Big Red forced six more Anderson turnovers in the fourth as they held off the Ravens for their second win of the season.

Beal led all scorers with 17 points on 7-of-15 shooting while recording four steals and three rebounds. Hofer chipped in 11 points on 5-of-9 from the floor while Schafer added eight points to her four steals and four assists. Longbrake and Lily Morris each posted eight points off the bench and Turner followed with seven.

Hannah Ault tallied a team-best 12 points for Anderson and Lexi Dellinger followed with 11 points on 3-of-4 from the perimeter.

Saturday's contest with the Quakers will be their first since 2016 when the Big Red opened the season with a 59-56 loss at Wilmington.