No Event
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Geneseo
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, OH in Alliance, Ohio
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Denison
3 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Grove City
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, OH in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Alma
3 vs. Denison
@ Mount Union in Alliance, Ohio
Tue Sep 05
Final
1 Mt. Vernon Naz.
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Sep 08
Final
0 Denison
3 vs. Otterbein
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 Geneva
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 La Roche
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final
2 Capital
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 19
Final
3 Heidelberg
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final
2 Denison
3 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Sep 26
Final
3 #22 Ohio Northern
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 28
Final
2 Denison
3 at Bluffton
in Bluffton, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Hiram
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
Final
3 Otterbein
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
Final
0 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
2 Kenyon
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 11
Final
1 Denison
3 at #1 Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
Final
0 Allegheny
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
Final
1 Oberlin
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 20
Final
0 Denison
3 vs. Cabrini
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Oct 20
Final
1 Denison
3 at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
3 Denison
1 vs. Haverford
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Denison
3 vs. DeSales
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Oct 25
Final
3 Denison
0 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. John Carroll
@ New Concord, OH in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
1 Denison
3 at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Fri Nov 03
Final
1 Kenyon
3 vs. Denison
@ Wittenberg NCAC Tournament in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Nov 04
Final
0 Denison
3 at Wittenberg
NCAC Tournament in Springfield, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red moves past Ladies to NCAC semis

Katie Aucamp  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Katie Aucamp | Photo by Jace Delgado

SPRINGFIELD, Ohio -- Thanks to 15 kills from sophomore Katie Aucamp, No. 4 seeded Denison volleyball earned a spot in the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament semifinals after defeating No. 5 Kenyon College 3-1 (25-23, 21-25, 25-23, 26-24) on Friday night at Pam Evans Smith Arena. Kenyon reached the NCAC Tournament quarterfinals after defeating No. 8 Oberlin College 3-0 in the first round.

Opening the first set with a 15-11 advantage kills by Aucamp and junior Isabella Pivec helped DU secure the first win of the match and go up 1-0.

After the Ladies took the second set 25-21, Denison stormed back in the third set with back-to-back kills from Emma Woerner to take an early 11-5 lead. Pivec and freshman Kaila Kasper totaled the last two points of the set to break the tie for the Big Red heading into the fourth set.

Kenyon's Mackenzie Bruzzio and Delaney Swanson allowed the Ladies to jump out to an early 8-4 lead in the final set, but six kills from senior Leah Reinfranck pushed the Big Red in front 26-24 to secure the 3-1 victory and a spot in the NCAC semifinals.

Aucamp led the team with 15 kills while Pivec and Woerner each contributed 12 kills on the night. Kasper and senior Kristin Thewes each posted career-highs in digs for the match, totaling 35 and 42 digs, respectively. Kenyon was paced by Bruzzio with 19 kills, while Jensen Shurbert's 41 assists were a match-best.

With the win, Denison improves to 15-13 on the season and have now won three out of their last four matches.

As the tournament's No. 4 seed, the Big Red will now advance to play tournament host and No. 1 Wittenberg University on Saturday, Nov. 4 at 11 a.m. in Springfield. The top-seeded Tigers received a bye from the first two rounds of the tournament.

Bluffton edges DU in five
September 28, 2017 Bluffton edges DU in five