Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Geneseo
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, OH in Alliance, Ohio
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Denison
3 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Grove City
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, OH in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Alma
3 vs. Denison
@ Mount Union in Alliance, Ohio
Tue Sep 05
Final
1 Mt. Vernon Naz.
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Sep 08
Final
0 Denison
3 vs. Otterbein
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 Geneva
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 La Roche
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final
2 Capital
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 19
Final
3 Heidelberg
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final
2 Denison
3 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Sep 26
Final
3 #22 Ohio Northern
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 28
Final
2 Denison
3 at Bluffton
in Bluffton, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Hiram
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
Final
3 Otterbein
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
Final
0 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
2 Kenyon
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 11
Final
1 Denison
3 at #1 Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
Final
0 Allegheny
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
Final
1 Oberlin
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 20
Final
0 Denison
3 vs. Cabrini
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Oct 20
Final
1 Denison
3 at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
3 Denison
1 vs. Haverford
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Denison
3 vs. DeSales
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Oct 25
Final
3 Denison
0 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. John Carroll
@ New Concord, OH in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
1 Denison
3 at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Fri Nov 03
Final
1 Kenyon
3 vs. Denison
@ Wittenberg NCAC Tournament in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Nov 04
Final
0 Denison
3 at Wittenberg
NCAC Tournament in Springfield, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Bluffton edges DU in five

Kaileigh Poe  |  Photo by Brett Dunbar
Kaileigh Poe | Photo by Brett Dunbar

BLUFFTON, Ohio—Denison and Bluffton went the distance but the Beavers rallied for the 3-2 (25-22, 22-25, 11-25, 25-18, 15-10) win over the Big Red on Thursday night at the Sommer Center.

With the matched tied 1-1, the Big Red hit .333 in the third set and Bluffton committed eight errors with just seven kills allowing DU to take a 2-1 lead after a 25-11 victory.

In the fourth set, DU was plagued by seven errors and the Beavers added 13 kills and two service aces to tie the match at 2-2.  In the decisive fifth set, the Big Red jumped out to a 7-4 lead thanks to back-to-back aces by Emma Woerner.  Bluffton responded by taking seven of the next nine points to take an 11-8 lead.

Kills by Denison's Alex Tubbs and Woerner made it a one-point match at 11-10 but Bluffton slammed the door with four consecutive points to lock up the 15-10 win and the match.

Denison was led by senior Leah Reinfranck who finished with 17 kills while hitting at a 31 percent clip.  Woerner followed with 10 kills, 14 digs and eight blocks.  Tubbs chipped in nine kills and five blocks while Julia Miller finished one shy of her season-high with 42 assists.  Denison's libero, Kristin Thewes, posted 39 digs while Amelia Meier, Reinfranck, Woerner and Miller tied with two service aces apiece.

For Bluffton (9-8), Remi Bower and Bethany Martini led the Beavers with 18 kills.  Erin Weisgarber had 47 assists and Sydney Mohler posted 23 digs.

Denison returns to action on Sunday, Oct. 1, when they host Hiram at 1 p.m. and Otterbein at 3 p.m. at Livingston Gymnasium.

Bluffton edges DU in five
September 28, 2017 Bluffton edges DU in five