No Event
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Geneseo
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, OH in Alliance, Ohio
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Denison
3 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Grove City
3 vs. Denison
@ Alliance, OH in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
Final
0 Alma
3 vs. Denison
@ Mount Union in Alliance, Ohio
Tue Sep 05
Final
1 Mt. Vernon Naz.
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Sep 08
Final
0 Denison
3 vs. Otterbein
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 Geneva
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final
0 La Roche
3 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, OH in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final
2 Capital
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 19
Final
3 Heidelberg
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
Final
2 Denison
3 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Sep 26
Final
3 #22 Ohio Northern
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 28
Final
2 Denison
3 at Bluffton
in Bluffton, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
Final
2 Hiram
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
Final
3 Otterbein
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
Final
0 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
2 Kenyon
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 11
Final
1 Denison
3 at #1 Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
Final
0 Allegheny
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
Final
1 Oberlin
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 20
Final
0 Denison
3 vs. Cabrini
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Oct 20
Final
1 Denison
3 at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
3 Denison
1 vs. Haverford
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Denison
3 vs. DeSales
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Oct 25
Final
3 Denison
0 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
3 Denison
0 vs. John Carroll
@ New Concord, OH in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
Final
1 Denison
3 at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Fri Nov 03
Final
1 Kenyon
3 vs. Denison
@ Wittenberg NCAC Tournament in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Nov 04
Final
0 Denison
3 at Wittenberg
NCAC Tournament in Springfield, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison rides comeback to win over Capital

Kristin Thewes  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Kristin Thewes | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- Trailing 2-1 after three sets, Denison volleyball rallied in the final two sets to defeat Capital University 3-2 (21-25, 27-25, 17-25, 25-14, 15-9) on Wednesday night at Livingston Gymnasium.

The Big Red outscored the Crusaders 40-23 in the final two sets, led by freshman Emma Woerner's 15 kills on the night and senior Kristin Thewes' 26 digs. Denison also received a boost from sophomore Katie Aucamp, who contributed seven kills and 11 digs off of the bench. Five of her kills helped DU in a 25-14 fourth set victory.

For Capital, senior Kasey Parkhurst led all players with 22 kills and tied for the team lead with 24 digs. Parkhurst was assisted by a combined 22 kills from Bryanna Masters and Leighann Osborne.

In the final play of the match, junior Julia Miller made two excellent digs off of consecutive attacks from the Crusader offense to secure the final point and improve to 2-0 at home on the season.

With a 7-2 start to 2017, the Big Red are off to their best start since 2012 when they went 10-2 to open the campaign.

Denison will return to action next Tuesday, Sept. 19 when they host Heidelberg University for a 7 p.m. start at Livingston Gymnasium.

Bluffton edges DU in five
September 28, 2017 Bluffton edges DU in five