Fri Sep 01
4:00 PM
Denison
vs. SUNY Geneseo
@ Mount Union Mount Union Invitational (Alliance, Ohio)
Fri Sep 01
8:00 PM
Denison
at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
12:00 PM
Denison
vs. Grove City
@ Mount Union in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Sep 02
2:00 PM
Alma
vs. Denison
@ Mount Union in Alliance, Ohio
Tue Sep 05
7:00 PM
Mt. Vernon Naz.
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Sep 08
8:00 PM
Denison
vs. Otterbein
@ Kenyon in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
1:00 PM
Denison
vs. Geneva
@ Kenyon in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
7:00 PM
Capital
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 19
7:00 PM
Heidelberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
1:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Sep 26
7:00 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 28
7:00 PM
Denison
at Bluffton
in Bluffton, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
1:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Oct 01
3:00 PM
Otterbein
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 03
7:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
1:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 11
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
7:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 20
6:00 PM
Denison
vs. Cabrini
@ Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Oct 20
8:00 PM
Denison
at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
11:00 AM
Denison
vs. Haverford
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
1:00 PM
Denison
vs. DeSales
@ Carnegie Mellon in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Oct 25
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
2:00 PM
Denison
vs. John Carroll
@ Muskingum in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
4:00 PM
Denison
at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU blanks Tigers, extends streak to six

Annemarie Fischer had 7 kills in Denison's 3-0 win at DePauw on Saturday.
Annemarie Fischer had 7 kills in Denison's 3-0 win at DePauw on Saturday.

Denison extending its winning streak to six straight matches following a 3-0 (25-16, 25-19, 25-21) victory at DePauw on Saturday afternoon in Greencastle, Ind.  With the win, the Big Red improves to 17-5 overall and 5-1 in the North Coast Athletic Conference.

DU opened the match with a convincing 25-16 win in the opening set.  The Tigers fought back in both the second and third sets, but the Big Red held on for six and four-point decision, respectively.

Sophomore Annemarie Fischer led the attack with seven kills. Senior Lauren Gustafson and freshman Rachele Lock each had six finishers, while sophomores Brittany Perry and Elena Lein chipped in five finishers a piece.  Setters Jessica Borsani and Carly Newell combined for 33 assists and 16 digs.

Junior libero Emily Marguerite served up four aces to go along with a team-high 24 digs.  Also helping the defensive effort were senior Sarah Blum, sophomore Kenzie Kuhn and Lein.  Blum recorded 16 digs, while Kuhn had three solo blocks and a block assists.  In addition to her five kills, Lein also registered four solo rejections.

Saturday's victory marked DU's ninth win in the last 10 matches. It was also their eighth shutout of the year, and the fifth over the last 10 games. With the win, the Big Red moves to third in the NCAC standings with a 5-1 mark.

Denison closes out its home scheduled with a pair of matches next week.  DU will host Otterbein University on Wednesday (Oct. 23) at 7 p.m. in nonconference action.  The Big Red will resume NCAC play on Saturday (Oct. 26) when they host Kenyon College on Senior Day. Saturday's match is slated to begin at 2 p.m.