Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 02
11 a.m. / 1 p.m.
at Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
at Fighting Scots Invitational
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
Bob Shannon Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in Delaware, Ohio
Sun Feb 04
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
at Ohio Wesleyan Open
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 10
at All-Ohio Championships
in Westerville, Ohio
Fri Feb 16
at OSU Buckeye Tune Up
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
at Kenyon Classic
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
at Kent State Tune Up
in Kent, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
NCAC Last Chance Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 24
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 25
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 02
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Mar 03
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Fri Mar 09
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Mar 10
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala.
Fri Mar 16
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Sat Mar 17
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Fri Mar 30
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Mar 31
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Apr 06
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in New Concord, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
at All-Ohio Championships
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Apr 20
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Kenyon Spring Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 04
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat May 05
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Thu May 10
at Dr. Keeler Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Fri May 11
at Dr. Keeler Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Fri May 11
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Fri May 11
at Gator Invite
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed May 16
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 17
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 17
at Great Lakes Elite Meet
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu May 24
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Fri May 25
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Sat May 26
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison takes third after collecting five wins

Anne Lee | Photo by Jace Delgado
Anne Lee | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- The Big Red women's track & field team picked up five victories for the second-consecutive meet en route to a third-place finish at the annual Bob Shannon Invitational held at the Mitchell Fieldhouse on the campus of Denison University.

Junior Arlesha Cospy led the way with two of the squad's five wins after sweeping the throwing events. Cospy posted a new personal-record performance in the shot put with a winning toss of 41'10.75". That mark is a three inch improvement from her previous PR achieved on Feb. 27, 2015 at the Denison Last Chance meet. The junior was also victorious in the weight throw with a heave of 49'4.25".

Senior Anne Lee, junior Hannah Hall and sophomore Ajai Brooks were responsible for the other three DU wins. Lee claimed victory in the triple jump with a combined leap of 33'10.75" while also finishing fourth in the long jump with a top mark of 15'10.25". Hall successfully cleared 5'3" in the high jump, while Brooks crossed the line in 26.10 to win the 200-meter dash. The sophomore sprinter also finished runner up in the 60 after checking in at 7.90.

The Big Red also had success in the relay events collecting three top-3 finishes. The grouping of Sydney Lerda, Shelby Jude, Sara Lichtenberg and Anna Fash combined for a time of 13:16.21 en route to a third-place finish in the distance medley relay. Denison followed that up with a second-place showing in the 4x200 relay. The foursome of Bren'et Muldrow, Brooks, Sydney Chandler and Mackenzie Mason posted a time of 1:51.45. The final event of the meet was the 4x400 relay where Chandler, Brooks, Lerda and Lichtenberg finished second with a time of 4:20.68.

Rounding out the scoring were sophomore Alyssa Bahel, freshman Erin O'Connor and Mason. Bahel placed fourth in the 5,000-meter run after crossing the line in 19:19.57, while O'Connor took fourth in the mile with a time of 5:36.27. Mason finished eighth in the pole vault with a personal-best mark of 9'2.50". The sophomore's height cleared bested her previous personal record by 2.25" set two week ago at the Denison Lid-Lifter.

Carnegie Mellon captured the team title with 159 points, 22 more than second-place Ohio Wesleyan. The Big Red collected 96 points, while fourth-place Kenyon had 53 tallies. Rio Grande (49), Washington & Jefferson (47), Wooster (45), Mount Vernon Nazarene (35) and Muskingum (23) completed the team standings.

Junior Jessica Nix will compete in Sunday's All-Ohio Pentathlon held at the Mitchell Fieldhouse. The Big Red team will return to action next Saturday at the All-Ohio Championship held at Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio.