No Event
Sat Jan 21
11:00 am
Denison Lid-Lifter 2nd Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
12:00 pm
at Fighting Scots Invitational 2nd Place
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
12:00 pm
Bob Shannon Invitational 3rd Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 05
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
12:00 pm
at All-Ohio Championship 10th Place
in Westerville, Ohio
Fri Feb 17
at Ohio State Tune Up
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
12:00 pm
at Kenyon Classic 7th Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
at Kent State Tune-Up
in Kent, Ohio
Fri Feb 24
5:00 pm
NCAC Last Chance Meet Unscored
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 26
12:30 pm
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Mar 03
at NCAC Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
at NCAC Championship 4th Place
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Mar 10
3:35 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Naperville, Ill.
Sat Mar 11
2:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Naperville, Ill.
Sat Mar 25
11:00 am
at Carnegie Mellon Invitational 3rd Place
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Apr 01
at Hilltop Classic
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Apr 08
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
at All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in New Concord, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
at All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
at All-Ohio Championship
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Apr 21
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
at Kenyon Spring Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
3:30 pm
Denison Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 30
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 05
at NCAC Championship
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat May 06
at NCAC Championship
in Greencastle, Ind.
Thu May 25
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Geneva, Ohio
Fri May 26
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Geneva, Ohio
Sat May 27
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Geneva, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison takes third after collecting five wins

Anne Lee | Photo by Jace Delgado
Anne Lee | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- The Big Red women's track & field team picked up five victories for the second-consecutive meet en route to a third-place finish at the annual Bob Shannon Invitational held at the Mitchell Fieldhouse on the campus of Denison University.

Junior Arlesha Cospy led the way with two of the squad's five wins after sweeping the throwing events. Cospy posted a new personal-record performance in the shot put with a winning toss of 41'10.75". That mark is a three inch improvement from her previous PR achieved on Feb. 27, 2015 at the Denison Last Chance meet. The junior was also victorious in the weight throw with a heave of 49'4.25".

Senior Anne Lee, junior Hannah Hall and sophomore Ajai Brooks were responsible for the other three DU wins. Lee claimed victory in the triple jump with a combined leap of 33'10.75" while also finishing fourth in the long jump with a top mark of 15'10.25". Hall successfully cleared 5'3" in the high jump, while Brooks crossed the line in 26.10 to win the 200-meter dash. The sophomore sprinter also finished runner up in the 60 after checking in at 7.90.

The Big Red also had success in the relay events collecting three top-3 finishes. The grouping of Sydney Lerda, Shelby Jude, Sara Lichtenberg and Anna Fash combined for a time of 13:16.21 en route to a third-place finish in the distance medley relay. Denison followed that up with a second-place showing in the 4x200 relay. The foursome of Bren'et Muldrow, Brooks, Sydney Chandler and Mackenzie Mason posted a time of 1:51.45. The final event of the meet was the 4x400 relay where Chandler, Brooks, Lerda and Lichtenberg finished second with a time of 4:20.68.

Rounding out the scoring were sophomore Alyssa Bahel, freshman Erin O'Connor and Mason. Bahel placed fourth in the 5,000-meter run after crossing the line in 19:19.57, while O'Connor took fourth in the mile with a time of 5:36.27. Mason finished eighth in the pole vault with a personal-best mark of 9'2.50". The sophomore's height cleared bested her previous personal record by 2.25" set two week ago at the Denison Lid-Lifter.

Carnegie Mellon captured the team title with 159 points, 22 more than second-place Ohio Wesleyan. The Big Red collected 96 points, while fourth-place Kenyon had 53 tallies. Rio Grande (49), Washington & Jefferson (47), Wooster (45), Mount Vernon Nazarene (35) and Muskingum (23) completed the team standings.

Junior Jessica Nix will compete in Sunday's All-Ohio Pentathlon held at the Mitchell Fieldhouse. The Big Red team will return to action next Saturday at the All-Ohio Championship held at Otterbein University in Westerville, Ohio.