Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 02
11 a.m. / 1 p.m.
at Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
at Fighting Scots Invitational
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
Bob Shannon Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in Delaware, Ohio
Sun Feb 04
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
at Ohio Wesleyan Open
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 10
at All-Ohio Championships
in Westerville, Ohio
Fri Feb 16
at OSU Buckeye Tune Up
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
at Kenyon Classic
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
at Kent State Tune Up
in Kent, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
NCAC Last Chance Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 24
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 25
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 02
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Mar 03
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Fri Mar 09
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Mar 10
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala.
Fri Mar 16
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Sat Mar 17
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Fri Mar 30
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Mar 31
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Apr 06
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in New Concord, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
at All-Ohio Championships
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Apr 20
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Kenyon Spring Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 04
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat May 05
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Thu May 10
at Dr. Keeler Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Fri May 11
at Dr. Keeler Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Fri May 11
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Fri May 11
at Gator Invite
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed May 16
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 17
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 17
at Great Lakes Elite Meet
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu May 24
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Fri May 25
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Sat May 26
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red finishes runner-up at annual Lid-Lifter

Hannah Hall | Photo by Jace Delgado
Hannah Hall | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- The Denison women's track and field team posted five victories en route to a second-place finish at the Denison University Lid-Lifter held at the Mitchell Fieldhouse on Saturday.

The Big Red's three national qualifiers from last spring combined for four of the team's five wins. Junior Arlesha Cospy got the ball rolling by winning the weight throw with a top mark of 47'11". Cospy went on to sweep the throwing events with a first-place showing in the shot put with a toss of 39'5.25". Junior Hannah Hall posted DU's second victory after successfully clearing 5'3.75" on her final attempt in the high jump. Sophomore All-American sprinter Ajai Brooks won the 200-meter dash with a winning time of 26.19. Brooks also took second in the 60-meter event with a time of 7.95.

Sophomore Anna Fash collected Denison's final win of the day in the 3,000-meter run after breaking the tape in 11:08.80. Classmate Alyssa Bahel followed Fash with a time of 11:14.67, while freshman Erin O'Connor took fourth after crossing the line in 11:21.55. Freshmen Sydney Lerda and Bryn Tomczak scored for DU in the 800 and 60 hurdles, respectively. Lerda was sixth in the 800 run with a time of 2:36.53, while Tomczak posted a personal-best time of 10.02 en route to a seventh-place showing. In the Big Red's final running event of the day, the 4x400 team of Brooks, Lerda, Sydney Chandler and Bren'et Muldrow placed sixth with a time of 4:30.60.

Senior Anne Lee and sophomore Mackenzie Mason rounded out the field-event scoring for Denison. Lee scored in both the triple and long jump events. The senior took third in the triple jump with a 34'mark, while her leap of 14'10.75" landed her in seventh place in the long jump. Mason finished fourth in the pole vault with a PR mark of 9'0.25". The sophomore moves into eighth on the Big Red's top performers list following the 3.50" improvement.

Division II West Virginia Wesleyan took home the team title with 166.50 points. Host Denison accumulated 93 points, 12 more tallies than third place California (Pa.). Wittenberg followed in fourth with 48 points, while Washington & Jefferson rounded out the top five in the team standings with 45 points.

The Big Red returns to action next Saturday (Jan. 28) when they travel to the College of Wooster for the Fighting Scots Invitational. Events are scheduled to begin at 12 p.m.