Davis wins second-straight Sprinter of the Year title

Davis wins second-straight Sprinter of the Year title
Tiffany Davis was named NCAC Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year after winning the 100 and 200-meter events.

Sophomore Tiffany Davis was named the North Coast Athletic Conference Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year after winning conference titles in the 100 and 200-meter events on the final day of the 2012 NCAC Championship.

Davis ran a personal-best 12.36 in the 100, and followed that up with a championship record time of 24.87 in the 200.  The sophomore's performance in the 200 also shattered the school record and set a new stadium record.

Senior Ani Mutafova also posted a career-best time in the 800-meter run.  Mutafova entered Saturday's final with a personal-best performance of 2:20.97, achieved earlier in the year.  In the finals, the senior finished third and completed the event in 2:18.40, besting her personal best by over two and a half seconds.

The Big Red also got scoring from the 4x100 and 4x400 relay teams.  The 4x100 team of Davis, senior Jane Zelenkov, Jillian Reagan and Mutafova finished seventh with a time of 53.35.  DU closed out the 2012 championship meet with an eighth-place finish in the 4x400 relay.  The foursome of Davis, Mutafova, Zelenkov and Laura Houcque combined for a time of 4:17.38.

Denison finished eighth after compiling 37 points.  Ohio Wesleyan won the team title with 220.50, while Oberlin (159) and DePauw (132) rounded out the top three spots.