Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Feb 09
Final
9 #9 Chicago
0 vs. Denison
@ Paramount Tennis Club in Westlake, Ohio
Sat Feb 10
Final
6 #16 Trinity (Tex.)
3 vs. Denison
@ North Ridge Tennis Club in North Ridgeville, Ohio
Sun Feb 11
Final
1 Denison
8 vs. #18 Case Western Reserve
@ Cleveland Skating Club in Cleveland, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.
Sat Feb 24
Final
3 Denison
6 vs. Indiana (PA)
@ Club Sport & Health in Monroeville, Pa.
Fri Mar 02
Final
4 #21 Hope
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 03
Final
0 Kalamazoo
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
Final
8 Denison
1 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Mar 15
Final
2 Northwestern Ohio
7 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
Final
0 Denison
7 vs. Towson
@ USTA National Campus (Collegiate Courts 1-6) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 20
Final
7 Denison
2 vs. Colorado Col.
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 9-14) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
0 Denison
9 at Fla. Southern
in Lakeland, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
1 St. Lawrence
8 vs. Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
Final
6 #22 Kenyon
3 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
0 Shawnee St.
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
Final
1 John Carroll
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final
6 Denison
3 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 27
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
@ North Central H.S. NCAC Tournament in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
View Full Schedule

Denison slips at #14 Florida Southern

Devin Gramley  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Devin Gramley | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

LAKELAND, Fla. -- Denison women's tennis traveled to Lakeland, Fla. on Thursday afternoon where they fell to Division II's No. 14 ranked Florida Southern College, 9-0, at the Wynee Warden Tennis Center.

On the doubles courts, the Big Red's top pair of Lauren Hawley and Emma Alsup pushed the Mocs to the brink, but Selin Devrimci and Lorena Rionda prevailed 9-7. Florida Southern's No. 2 combo of Magda Stepnik and Nina Schwab defeated DU's Madeline Hart and Megan Hickey, 8-4, while Courtney Brown and Charlotte Purnode lost on the No. 3 court to Natalija Popovic and Gabby Hesse, 8-3.

In singles play, Alsup forced a tie-breaker in the second set of No. 2 singles, but couldn't hang on as she fell to Popovic, 6-4, 7-6 (7-3). After Hart played FSC's Avery Hunter close in the first set of No. 3 singles, 6-4, the Mocs were able to take the match in the second set, 6-2.

Rounding out the match in No. 5 play was Hesse defeating Purnode, 6-0, 6-1, and freshman Devin Gramley suffering a pair of 6-1 set losses to Carolyn Cureton in No. 6 singles.

The Big Red will wrap up their Florida trip on Friday, March 23 when they return to the USTA National Campus in Orlando, Fla. to take on St. Lawrence University at 10 a.m.