No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 11
Final
2 Denison
7 at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #22 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 25
Final
7 Indiana (PA)
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
Final
2 #25 Denison
7 at #29 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
Final
4 #25 Denison
5 at #24 Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #25 Denison
9 vs. #8 Wesleyan
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Wed Mar 22
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
Final
5 #29 Lewis & Clark
4 #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
Final
5 #30 Denison
4 vs. Augustana (IL)
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Fri Apr 07
Final
7 #19 Case Western Reserve
2 vs. #30 Denison
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
Final
3 #30 Denison
6 vs. #22 Wisconsin-Whitewater
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
Final
9 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
7 #26 DePauw
2 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
Final
0 Baldwin Wallace
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
9:00 AM
Allegheny
Denison
NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red shuts out Gators

Ashley Hammons  |  Photo by Jason Miller
Ashley Hammons | Photo by Jason Miller

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  The Big Red women's tennis improved to 5-7 after a convincing 9-0 win over Allegheny on Saturday afternoon.

In a match that was played in less than ideal weather conditions on the outdoor courts at Denison, the Big Red fought through the chilly temperatures for six straight-set singles wins and a sweep at doubles.

Denison's regionally-ranked duo of Lauren Hawley and Emma Alsup blanked Gaby DeLeon and Amanda Ress Liere, 8-0.  Hawley returned to top LeLeon, 6-3, 6-0 at No. 1 singles.  Alsup won at No. 2 singles, 6-1, 6-1 and Ashley Hammons was a 6-3, 6-3 winner against Ress Liere in the third singles flight.

DU's wins were rounded out by Charlotte Purnode, Carol Vitellas and Olivia Underwood.  Denison is ranked 30th in the most recent Intercollegiate Tennis Association Division III poll.  They are sixth in the Central Region.  Allegheny drops to 4-8 with the loss.