No Event
Sat Feb 11
Final
2 Denison
7 at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #22 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 25
Final
7 Indiana (PA)
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
Final
2 #25 Denison
7 at #29 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
Final
4 #25 Denison
5 at #24 Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #25 Denison
9 vs. #8 Wesleyan
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Wed Mar 22
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
Final
5 #29 Lewis & Clark
4 #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
Final
5 #30 Denison
4 vs. Augustana (IL)
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Fri Apr 07
Final
7 #19 Case Western Reserve
2 vs. #30 Denison
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
Final
3 #30 Denison
6 vs. #22 Wisconsin-Whitewater
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
Final
9 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
7 #26 DePauw
2 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
Final
0 Baldwin Wallace
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
0 Allegheny
5 Denison
NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
Sat Apr 29
Final
5 Kenyon
3 Denison
NCAC Championships - Semifinals
Sun Apr 30
9:00 AM
Oberlin
vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio NCAC Championships - Third-Place Match
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red drops decision to Division II IUP

Ashley Hammons  |  Photo by Jason Miller
Ashley Hammons | Photo by Jason Miller

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- The Division II Crimson Hawks picked up a 7-2 victory over Denison on Saturday afternoon at the Mitchell Fieldhouse.

The Big Red trailed Indiana (Pa.) 2-1 at the completion of doubles play. Senior Olivia Underwood and sophomore Ashley Hammons scored DU's first point of the match with an 8-6 victory over Rachel Wood and Mariana Valenzuela at the third flight. Sophomore Lauren Hawley and Emma Alsup suffered an 8-6 setback at No. 1 doubles, while Megan Hickey and Rochell Issa dropped a razor thin 9-8 (7-5) decision at second doubles.

Alsup picked up Denison lone singles victory, taking a three-set decision from Luise von Agris. Alsup won the opening set 6-3 before dropping the second by the same score. The sophomore came away with the win after coming away with the flight's third-consecutive 6-3 score. Hammons was involved in the other three-set decision, winning the first 7-6 (7-5) before falling in straight-sets (6-0, 6-2) to Wood.

DU falls to 0-3 on the year, while IUP improves to 4-0. Denison returns to action next weekend when they travel to Michigan for matches at Hope (March 4) and Kalamazoo (March 5). Both matches are slated to begin at 2 p.m.