No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 10
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 11
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 30
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Oct 01
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Oct 02
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Fri Feb 17
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Greencastle, Ind. in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Feb 26
10:00 AM
Indiana (PA)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
2:00 PM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
10:00 AM
Denison
at Wesleyan (Conn.)
in Middletown, Conn.
Thu Mar 23
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
4:30 PM
Lewis & Clark
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
9:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
4:30 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red advances to NCAC Semis

(L-R) Taylor Hawkins and Kelsey Geppner notched their 13th doubles win.
(L-R) Taylor Hawkins and Kelsey Geppner notched their 13th doubles win.

The 26th-ranked Denison women's tennis team advanced to the semifinals of 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament following a 5-0 shutout win over rival Ohio Wesleyan on Friday at the Jasper Tennis Center in Gambier, Ohio.

Sophomores Meg Chiumento and Sarah Torrence opened the match win a dominating 8-0 win over Ellie Magner and Alex Webb.  DU doubled its lead with an 8-1 decision at the first flight.  The No. 1 doubles team of Kelsey Geppner and Taylor Hawkins defeated Whitney Lonnemann and Taylor Heasley for their 13th win of the year. The Big Red completed the sweep when Heather Abzug and Eleni Coleman edged Meghan Guthrie and Kimberly Baione at third doubles, 9-7.

In singles action, Geppner and freshman Emily Holloway nailed down the victory for DU.  Geppner earned Denison's fourth point of the match with a shutout win over Lonnemann at the top singles flight. The win was the senior's 14th overall in singles play and her seventh straight. Holloway also posted a 6-0, 6-0 win over Webb. The freshman secured her team-leading 15th win and extended her current winning streak to five matches.

Denison improves to 10-8, while the Battling Bishops to 7-14. The Big Red will take on the winner of the Oberlin/Wooster quarterfinal match on Saturday at 3 p.m.