No Event
Sat Sep 16
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Mon Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Cleveland, Ohio
Sun Feb 11
8:00 AM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
Cleveland Skating Club
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Hope
Denison
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Kalamazoo
Denison
Thu Mar 22
3:00 PM
Denison
at Fla. Southern
Lakeland, FL
Tue Apr 10
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red advances to NCAC Semis

(L-R) Taylor Hawkins and Kelsey Geppner notched their 13th doubles win.
(L-R) Taylor Hawkins and Kelsey Geppner notched their 13th doubles win.

The 26th-ranked Denison women's tennis team advanced to the semifinals of 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament following a 5-0 shutout win over rival Ohio Wesleyan on Friday at the Jasper Tennis Center in Gambier, Ohio.

Sophomores Meg Chiumento and Sarah Torrence opened the match win a dominating 8-0 win over Ellie Magner and Alex Webb.  DU doubled its lead with an 8-1 decision at the first flight.  The No. 1 doubles team of Kelsey Geppner and Taylor Hawkins defeated Whitney Lonnemann and Taylor Heasley for their 13th win of the year. The Big Red completed the sweep when Heather Abzug and Eleni Coleman edged Meghan Guthrie and Kimberly Baione at third doubles, 9-7.

In singles action, Geppner and freshman Emily Holloway nailed down the victory for DU.  Geppner earned Denison's fourth point of the match with a shutout win over Lonnemann at the top singles flight. The win was the senior's 14th overall in singles play and her seventh straight. Holloway also posted a 6-0, 6-0 win over Webb. The freshman secured her team-leading 15th win and extended her current winning streak to five matches.

Denison improves to 10-8, while the Battling Bishops to 7-14. The Big Red will take on the winner of the Oberlin/Wooster quarterfinal match on Saturday at 3 p.m.