No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 18
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #22 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 25
Final
7 Indiana (PA)
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
Final
2 #25 Denison
7 at #29 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
Final
4 #25 Denison
5 at #24 Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #25 Denison
9 vs. #8 Wesleyan
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Wed Mar 22
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
Final
5 #29 Lewis & Clark
4 #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
Final
5 #30 Denison
4 vs. Augustana (IL)
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Fri Apr 07
Final
7 #19 Case Western Reserve
2 vs. #30 Denison
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
Final
3 #30 Denison
6 vs. #22 Wisconsin-Whitewater
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
Final
9 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
7 #26 DePauw
2 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
Final
0 Baldwin Wallace
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
0 Allegheny
5 Denison
NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
Sat Apr 29
Final
5 Kenyon
3 Denison
NCAC Championships - Semifinals
Sun Apr 30
Final
5 #36 Oberlin
4 vs. #40 Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio NCAC Championships - Third-Place Match
Thu May 25
TBA
Denison
at NCAA Division III Singles/Doubles Championships
in Chattanooga, Tenn.
Previous Next View Full Schedule

No. 11 DePauw edges Big Red, 5-4

Emily Holloway won her fourth-straight singles match at DePauw on Saturday.
Emily Holloway won her fourth-straight singles match at DePauw on Saturday.

A doubles sweep powered 11th-ranked DePauw to a 5-4 victory over North Coast Athletic Conference West Division rival Denison Saturday on the Blackstock Courts in Greencastle, Ind.

The Tigers took a commanding, and what proved to be vital, 3-0 lead over the No. 26 Big Red after sweeping the three doubles flights.  DePauw posted 8-3 wins at first and second doubles, while Julie Wittwer and Kaitlin Pickrel won an 8-2 decision at No. 3.

Despite falling into an early hole, Denison made a serious push in singles play.  Senior Kelsey Geppner picked up her fourth win over a regionally-ranked opponent and her sixth-consecutive singles victory following a 6-2, 7-6 (8-6) win over Maggie MacPhail at No. 1 single.  Also helping the cause was sophomore Taylor Hawkins who won a three-set decision over Claire Marshall (6-4, 1-6, 6-1).

The Tigers pulled within one point of winning the match after Carolyn Huerth posted a 6-2, 6-1 win at No. 3 singles.  However, the gap closed when freshman Emily Holloway and sophomore Sarah Torrence won at fourth and sixth singles, respectively.  Holloway defeated Meg Crowley in three sets (6-3, 2-6, 7-5), while Torrence won 6-4, 1-6, 6-4 over Wittwer.

The match-clinching point came at the fifth flight where Caroline Emhardt won a three-set battle with Heather Abzug.  Abzug won the opening set with a 6-2 score.  However, Emhardt rebounded with back-to-back wins (6-0, 6-2) to earn the win for DePauw.

With the loss, Denison falls to 9-8 overall and 2-1 in the NCAC West, while the Tigers moves to 14-4 record and a perfect 3-0 in conference play. The Big Red returns to action next weekend when they host the annual NCAC Tennis Championships in Granville.