No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 10
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 11
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 30
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Oct 01
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Oct 02
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Fri Feb 17
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Greencastle, Ind. in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Feb 26
10:00 AM
Indiana (PA)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
2:00 PM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
10:00 AM
Denison
at Wesleyan (Conn.)
in Middletown, Conn.
Thu Mar 23
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
4:30 PM
Lewis & Clark
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
9:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
4:30 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red competes at Oberlin Invitational

Taylor Hawkins (L) and Audrey Fitzpatrick both went 3-0 in singles at Oberlin.
Taylor Hawkins (L) and Audrey Fitzpatrick both went 3-0 in singles at Oberlin.

The Denison women's tennis team kicked off the 2013-14 season at the annual Oberlin Invitational this past weekend in Oberlin, Ohio.

Sophomore Taylor Hawkins and Audrey Fitzpatrick paced the Big Red in singles action with perfect 3-0 records.  Hawkins opened competition with a three-set (6-3, 4-6, 10-7) decision over Otterbein's Julie Stroyne.  The sophomore followed that up with a 6-1, 6-0 win over conference foe Catherine Christian of Wooster before closing out the invitational with a 6-4, 6-3 victory over Case Western's Taylor Sweeney.

Fitzpatrick opened the invitational with a dominating 6-1, 6-1 win over Ohio Northern's Meghan Letizia.  In the second round, the second-year player needed three sets to take down Tiffany Kollah from Allegheny.  After each player won a set 6-4, Fitzpatrick took the decisive set via 10-1 score.  In her final match, the DU sophomore defeated Sara Zargham of Case Western Reserve 7-5, 6-2.

Also posting strong showings for Denison were sophomore Meg Chiumento and freshmen Zoe Kasiurak, Lauren Schechtman and Emily Holloway.  All four athletes posted 2-1 records over the weekend.

In doubles action, the teams of Kelsey Geppner and Hawkins and Fitzpatrick and Holloway both went 2-1.  Geppner and Hawkins grinded out a pair of 9-7 wins in their first two matches, before dropping an 8-5 decision in their final match.  Fitzpatrick and Holloway opened up play with an 8-6 victory before dropping their second match of the weekend via 8-6 score.  The DU tandem rebounded with a dominating 8-1 win in their third and final match.

Denison will wrap up the fall schedule this weekend at the ITA Central Regional hosted by DePauw University. The five-day competition will begin on Thursday, Sept. 19.