Sat Feb 11
10:00 AM
Denison
at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
2:00 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 25
10:00 AM
Indiana (PA)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
2:00 PM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
1:00 PM
Denison
vs. Wesleyan (Conn.)
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Thu Mar 23
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
4:30 PM
Lewis & Clark
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
9:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
4:30 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Four garner All-NCAC honors

Alex Marcell (L) and Kelsey Geppner (R) earned first-team All-NCAC honors.
Alex Marcell (L) and Kelsey Geppner (R) earned first-team All-NCAC honors.

The Big Red women's tennis landed four on the 2013 All-North Coast Athletic Conference team.  Senior Alex Marcell and junior Kelsey Geppner both earned first-team accolades, while first-years Taylor Hawkins and Meg Chiumento garnered second-team and honorable mention honors, respectively.

A four-time all-conference selection, Marcell earned first-team honors for the second-consecutive year after finishing the season with a 13-6 record, including a 10-2 mark at second doubles.  The senior leaves Denison ranked seventh in career singles victories with 49.  She also boasts the sixth-best career winning percentage (.742).  A second-team All-NCAC honoree in 2011, Geppner makes her first appearance on the first team.  On the year, she went 13-4 with a 9-3 record at the top flight.

Marcell and Geppner also posted an 11-4 record as Denison's No. 1 doubles team.  Marcell earned her second-straight first-team honor, while Geppner earned first-team doubles recognition for the first time in her career.  The senior will leave Granville ranked third in career doubles wins (71) and seventh in winning percentage (.755).

In her first collegiate season, Hawkins compiled an 11-4 mark, which included a 6-4 record at third singles.  The rookie also picked up victories at the first and second flights during her debut season.  Chiumento finished her rookie campaign with a 13-5 record playing at flights two through five.