Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Feb 09
Final
9 #9 Chicago
0 vs. Denison
@ Paramount Tennis Club in Westlake, Ohio
Sat Feb 10
Final
6 #16 Trinity (Tex.)
3 vs. Denison
@ North Ridge Tennis Club in North Ridgeville, Ohio
Sun Feb 11
Final
1 Denison
8 vs. #18 Case Western Reserve
@ Cleveland Skating Club in Cleveland, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.
Sat Feb 24
Final
3 Denison
6 vs. Indiana (PA)
@ Club Sport & Health in Monroeville, Pa.
Fri Mar 02
Final
4 #21 Hope
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 03
Final
0 Kalamazoo
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
Final
8 Denison
1 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Mar 15
Final
2 Northwestern Ohio
7 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
Final
0 Denison
7 vs. Towson
@ USTA National Campus (Collegiate Courts 1-6) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 20
Final
7 Denison
2 vs. Colorado Col.
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 9-14) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
0 Denison
9 at Fla. Southern
in Lakeland, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
1 St. Lawrence
8 vs. Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
Final
6 #22 Kenyon
3 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
0 Shawnee St.
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
Final
1 John Carroll
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final
6 Denison
3 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
View Full Schedule

Denison earns spot in NCAC title match

Taylor Hawkins' two wins helped DU advance to the NCAC title match.
Taylor Hawkins' two wins helped DU advance to the NCAC title match.

The Big Red women's tennis team advanced to the 2013 North Coast Athletic Conference Championship match following a 5-1 victory over conference rival Kenyon on Saturday in Oberlin, Ohio.

Denison took an early 2-1 lead after winning two of the three doubles matches.  The No. 1 doubles team of Alex Marcell and Kelsey Geppner improved to 11-3 on the year after edging the duo of Amy Schlessman and Taylor Diffley, 8-6.  The freshmen tandem of Taylor Hawkins and Audrey Fitzpatrick, who missed the match against Kenyon on April 3, cruised past Lauren Hoffman and Amanda Polster, 8-3.

In singles play, Marcell, Hawkins and Fitzpatrick picked up the singles wins for DU at the second, third and fifth flights, respectively.  Marcell picked up her sixth-straight win after knocking off Diffley 6-2, 6-1.  Hawkins also posted a 6-2, 6-1 victory, while Fitzpatrick logged a 6-3, 6-2 decision over Lauren Hoffman.

Saturday's win sets up a rematch with nationally-ranked and top-seeded DePauw University.  The Tigers, who defeated Oberlin 5-2 in the semifinals, handed the Big Red a 7-2 loss in Granville on April 14.  Sunday's championship match is slated to begin at 11 a.m.