Sat Feb 11
10:00 AM
Denison
at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
2:00 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 25
10:00 AM
Indiana (PA)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
2:00 PM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
1:00 PM
Denison
vs. Wesleyan (Conn.)
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Wed Mar 22
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
4:30 PM
Lewis & Clark
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
9:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
4:30 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison drops a pair at Midwest Invite

Kelsey Geppner knocked off two regionally-ranked opponents in Madison, Wis.
Kelsey Geppner knocked off two regionally-ranked opponents in Madison, Wis.

The Big Red saw its 10-match winning streak come to an end at the 2013 Midwest Invitational on Friday in Madison, Wis.  Denison dropped decisions to 13th-ranked Washington-St. Louis (6-1) and Carleton (6-3).

Denison splits three of the six singles flights with Carleton, but dropped all three doubles matches in the losing effort.  Junior Kelsey Geppner won her fifth-consecutive match and improved to 5-2 at No. 1 singles following a dominating 6-2, 6-1 victory over regionally-ranked Bridget Doyle.

Senior Alex Marcell and freshman Meg Chiumento also picked up straight-set victories at second and fourth singles, respectively.  Marcell topped Anne Lombardi 7-6, 6-2, while Chiumento knocked off Molly Hemes via 7-5, 6-4 scores.

Against the Bears, Geppner picked up the lone DU win at No. 1 singles.  After dropping the first set, Geppner evened things up with a 6-2 decision.  All square at 1-1, Geppner defeated Theresa Petraskova, the No. 2 singles player in the Central Region, 10-7 in the third set.

The Big Red (10-4) wraps up play at the Midwest Invitational on Saturday morning against Gustavus Adolphus College at 9:30 a.m. EDT.