No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 16
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Mon Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Westlake, Ohio - Paramount Tennis Club
Sat Feb 10
TBA
Trinity (Tex.)
vs. Denison
@ North Ridgeville, Ohio - North Ridge Tennis Club
Sun Feb 11
8:00 AM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
Cleveland Skating Club
Fri Feb 16
4:30 PM
Northwestern Ohio
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
6:00 PM
Denison
vs. Allegheny
@ Erie, Pa. in Erie, Pa.
Sat Feb 24
TBA
Denison
vs. Indiana (PA)
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Hope
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Kalamazoo
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
4:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
9:00 AM
Denison
vs. Towson
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 20
9:00 AM
Denison
vs. Colorado Col.
@ in Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
3:00 PM
Denison
at Fla. Southern
in Lakeland, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
9:00 AM
St. Lawrence
vs. Denison
@ in Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
12:00 PM
Shawnee St.
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
TBA
John Carroll
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 10
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
TBA
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU edges Kenyon, runs streak to 10

Alex Marcell (L) and Kelsey Geppner (R) improved to 7-0 at No. 1 doubles.
Alex Marcell (L) and Kelsey Geppner (R) improved to 7-0 at No. 1 doubles.

Freshman Katy Barenholtz's victory at sixth singles sent the Denison women's team to a 5-4 victory over Kenyon on Wednesday night at the Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville, Ohio.

With the match all square at 4-4, everything came down to the No. 6 singles flight that saw Barenholtz face off against Abigail Younger.  The DU rookie, who entered the day 5-0 in dual matches and 1-0 at sixth singles, battled to a 6-6 draw through the first 12 points of the opening set.  The first-year gained the early advantage with a 7-2 win in the tiebreaker.  Barenholtz secured the Big Red's 10th-straight victory with a 6-4 decision in the second set.

Denison carried a 2-1 leads into singles play after winning two out of three doubles flights.  Senior Alex Marcell and junior Kelsey Geppner picked up their seventh doubles victory thanks to an 8-3 decision over Taylor Diffley and Amy Schlessman.  Tied at 1-1, Barenholtz and rookie Taylor Hawkins played to an 8-8 tie with Samantha Murphy and Younger.  The freshmen duo dominated the tiebreaker (7-1) to give Denison a 2-1 edge.

Geppner extended the Big Red lead with a three-set victory over Diffley at No. 2 singles.  After dropping the opening set 6-4, the junior scored convincing 6-0, 6-1 decisions in the final two sets.  After the Ladies shrunk the deficit to 3-2, freshman Meg Chiumento knocked off Amanda Polster in three sets at third singles.  Like Geppner, Chiumento dropped the first set.  However, the first-year won a pair of 7-6 decisions to earn her fourth-consecutive victory.

In a battle of regionally-ranked opponents, Schlessman rallied to edge Marcell in three sets (4-6, 7-5, 7-6 [7-1]) at the top flight to cut the deficit to 4-3.  At fifth singles, Lauren Hoffman won a three-set decision (6-2, 4-6, 6-0) over Heather Abzug to tie the match at 4-4.

Denison improves to 10-2 with the win, while Kenyon falls to 5-3.  The Big Red returns to action on Friday when they take on Washington-St. Louis in the opening round of the Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.  Match time is scheduled for 9:30 a.m. EST.

Denison edges Kenyon, runs streak to 10