No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 16
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Mon Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Westlake, Ohio - Paramount Tennis Club
Sat Feb 10
TBA
Trinity (Tex.)
vs. Denison
@ North Ridgeville, Ohio - North Ridge Tennis Club
Sun Feb 11
8:00 AM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
Cleveland Skating Club
Fri Feb 16
4:30 PM
Northwestern Ohio
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
6:00 PM
Denison
vs. Allegheny
@ Erie, Pa. in Erie, Pa.
Sat Feb 24
TBA
Denison
vs. Indiana (PA)
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Hope
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Kalamazoo
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
4:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
9:00 AM
Denison
vs. Towson
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 20
9:00 AM
Denison
vs. Colorado Col.
@ in Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
3:00 PM
Denison
at Fla. Southern
in Lakeland, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
9:00 AM
St. Lawrence
vs. Denison
@ in Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
12:00 PM
Shawnee St.
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
TBA
John Carroll
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 10
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
TBA
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Marcell and Hawkins take 2nd at ITAs

Alex Marcell and Taylor Hawkins took second at the ITA Central Regional.
Alex Marcell and Taylor Hawkins took second at the ITA Central Regional.

Denison's Alex Marcell and Taylor Hawkins finished second in the doubles draw of the USTA/ITA Central Regional Championship on Monday afternoon in St. Louis, Mo.  Earlier in the day, Marcell also finished runner-up in the singles draw.

After winning their first seven matches as a doubles team, the Denison duo suffered the first setback of the season to DePauw's Meg Crowley and Claire Marshall.  The Tiger tandem made short work of the opening set, winning six of the seven games.  Marcell and Hawkins battled back from a 3-1 deficit in the second set before eventually falling 6-3.

The Big Red pairing rattled off four-straight wins prior to the ITA finals, and seven straight dating back to the Oberlin Invitational on Sept. 14-16.

In singles action, Marcell squared off against Chicago freshman and eighth-seeded Megan Tang.  Tang, who defeated Hawkins in the quarterfinals, quickly took the lead following a 6-0 win in the opening set.  The DU senior battled in the second set, but eventually dropped a 6-4 decision.

Marcell closed out the fall season with a 7-2 record, which included a 6-1 mark at the ITA regional championship.  The Big Red will resume play in February 2013.