No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 18
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #22 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 25
Final
7 Indiana (PA)
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
Final
2 #25 Denison
7 at #29 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
Final
4 #25 Denison
5 at #24 Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #25 Denison
9 vs. #8 Wesleyan
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Wed Mar 22
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
Final
5 #29 Lewis & Clark
4 #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
Final
5 #30 Denison
4 vs. Augustana (IL)
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Fri Apr 07
Final
7 #19 Case Western Reserve
2 vs. #30 Denison
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
Final
3 #30 Denison
6 vs. #22 Wisconsin-Whitewater
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
Final
9 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
7 #26 DePauw
2 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
Final
0 Baldwin Wallace
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
0 Allegheny
5 Denison
NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
Sat Apr 29
Final
5 Kenyon
3 Denison
NCAC Championships - Semifinals
Sun Apr 30
Final
5 #36 Oberlin
4 vs. #40 Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio NCAC Championships - Third-Place Match
Thu May 25
TBA
Denison
at NCAA Division III Singles/Doubles Championships
in Chattanooga, Tenn.
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Marcell and Hawkins take 2nd at ITAs

Alex Marcell and Taylor Hawkins took second at the ITA Central Regional.
Alex Marcell and Taylor Hawkins took second at the ITA Central Regional.

Denison's Alex Marcell and Taylor Hawkins finished second in the doubles draw of the USTA/ITA Central Regional Championship on Monday afternoon in St. Louis, Mo.  Earlier in the day, Marcell also finished runner-up in the singles draw.

After winning their first seven matches as a doubles team, the Denison duo suffered the first setback of the season to DePauw's Meg Crowley and Claire Marshall.  The Tiger tandem made short work of the opening set, winning six of the seven games.  Marcell and Hawkins battled back from a 3-1 deficit in the second set before eventually falling 6-3.

The Big Red pairing rattled off four-straight wins prior to the ITA finals, and seven straight dating back to the Oberlin Invitational on Sept. 14-16.

In singles action, Marcell squared off against Chicago freshman and eighth-seeded Megan Tang.  Tang, who defeated Hawkins in the quarterfinals, quickly took the lead following a 6-0 win in the opening set.  The DU senior battled in the second set, but eventually dropped a 6-4 decision.

Marcell closed out the fall season with a 7-2 record, which included a 6-1 mark at the ITA regional championship.  The Big Red will resume play in February 2013.