Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Feb 09
Final
9 #9 Chicago
0 vs. Denison
@ Paramount Tennis Club in Westlake, Ohio
Sat Feb 10
Final
6 #16 Trinity (Tex.)
3 vs. Denison
@ North Ridge Tennis Club in North Ridgeville, Ohio
Sun Feb 11
Final
1 Denison
8 vs. #18 Case Western Reserve
@ Cleveland Skating Club in Cleveland, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.
Sat Feb 24
Final
3 Denison
6 vs. Indiana (PA)
@ Club Sport & Health in Monroeville, Pa.
Fri Mar 02
Final
4 #21 Hope
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 03
Final
0 Kalamazoo
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
Final
8 Denison
1 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Mar 15
Final
2 Northwestern Ohio
7 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
Final
0 Denison
7 vs. Towson
@ USTA National Campus (Collegiate Courts 1-6) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 20
Final
7 Denison
2 vs. Colorado Col.
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 9-14) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
0 Denison
9 at Fla. Southern
in Lakeland, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
1 St. Lawrence
8 vs. Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
Final
6 #22 Kenyon
3 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
0 Shawnee St.
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
Final
1 John Carroll
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final
6 Denison
3 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
View Full Schedule

Short, Marcell end season at NCAAs

Short set the school record for single-season doubles victories with 25.
Short set the school record for single-season doubles victories with 25.

Senior Sarah Short and junior Alex Marcell closed out the season at the 2012 NCAA Championship Tournament in Cary, N.C. on Thursday.

The Big Red tandem entered the tournament as the No. 2 team in the central region and opened the draw against a familiar opponent in Nandita Krishnan and Hailey Hogan of Johns Hopkins.  On March 3, Marcell and Short defeated Krishnan and Hogan via 8-6 decision at the ITA Indoor Championship in Greencastle, Ind.  However, on Thursday it was the duo from Johns Hopkins that got the better of the DU pair.  Krishnan and Hogan got a measure of revenge after posting a pair of 6-3 scores.

This season, Short and Marcell compiled an impressive 20-3 record, including a 20-2 mark at the top doubles flight.  Prior to Thursday's match, the Denison team posted a perfect record against Division III teams, with their only losses coming to Division II opponents.  Short set the school record for single-season doubles victories (25), while her 57-career wins ranks tied for sixth on the all-time list.  Marcell will enter her senior season with 56 career doubles victories, which ranks tied for eighth in program history.

Earlier in the day, Short competed as an alternate in the singles championship draw against Chicago's Jennifer Kung.  The DU senior suffered a straight-set loss to Kung via 6-1, 6-3 scores.  Short closed out her collegiate career with 42 singles wins.