Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Fri Feb 23
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.
Sat Feb 24
Final
3 Denison
6 vs. Indiana (PA)
@ Club Sport & Health in Monroeville, Pa.
Fri Mar 02
Final
4 #21 Hope
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 03
Final
0 Kalamazoo
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
Final
8 Denison
1 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Mar 15
Final
2 Northwestern Ohio
7 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
Final
0 Denison
7 vs. Towson
@ USTA National Campus (Collegiate Courts 1-6) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 20
Final
7 Denison
2 vs. Colorado Col.
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 9-14) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
0 Denison
9 at Fla. Southern
in Lakeland, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
1 St. Lawrence
8 vs. Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
Final
6 #22 Kenyon
3 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
0 Shawnee St.
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
Final
1 John Carroll
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final
6 Denison
3 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 27
Final
0 Wittenberg
5 vs. Denison
@ North Central H.S. NCAC Tournament in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
Final
3 Oberlin
5 vs. Denison
@ North Central H.S. -- Indianapolis, IN in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
Final
0 #32 Denison
5 vs. #22 Kenyon
@ North Central H.S. in Indianapolis, Ind.
View Full Schedule

Marcell receives ITA recognition

Denison Tennis Player

Denison junior Alex Marcell was named the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's Player to Watch in the central region following a breakout season in 2012.

Marcell posted an impressive 15-5 singles record, including a 13-4 mark at No. 2 singles.  Thirteen of the junior's 15 victories came in straight sets.  Of those 15 wins, Marcell held her opponents to three or fewer set points 10 times.  She also racked up 12 victories over her last 15 decisions.

As a doubles player, Marcell went 20-2 at the first flight with partner Sarah Short.  The DU duo posted a perfect 18-0 record against Division III opponents during the 2012 season.  Their other two victories came against Division II Indiana (Pa.) and Division I Dayton.  The tandem is currently riding a 15-match winning streak and ranks second in the region.

The team of Short and Marcell were selected to participate at the 2012 NCAA Division III Doubles Championship.  The championship will be held May 24-26 at Cary Tennis Park in Cary, N.C.  The draw will be done by the women's tennis committee and will be released on the last day of the team championship.