No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 10
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 11
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 30
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Oct 01
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Oct 02
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Fri Feb 17
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Greencastle, Ind. in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Feb 26
10:00 AM
Indiana (PA)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
2:00 PM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
10:00 AM
Denison
at Wesleyan (Conn.)
in Middletown, Conn.
Thu Mar 23
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
4:30 PM
Lewis & Clark
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
9:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
4:30 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

No. 12 DePauw doubles up Big Red

Sarah Short won a three-set decision at No. 1 singles at DePauw.
Sarah Short won a three-set decision at No. 1 singles at DePauw.

The Big Red suffered a 6-3 loss to No. 12 DePauw on Sunday afternoon in North Coast Athletic Conference action from Greencastle, Ind.

Senior Sarah Short paced Denison with victories at the first singles and doubles flights.  In singles play, Short faced off against a familiar foe in Kelly Gebert.  Last year, Gebert won a three-set decision over the DU senior in the third round of the NCAA Championship Tournament.  The Big Red went on to edge the Tigers 5-4 to punch their ticket to the NCAA Quarterfinals.  Like their 2011 meeting, Short won the opening set 6-3, but fell in the second (6-2).  However, Short won the tiebreaker via 11-9 decision to avenge last year's loss.

In doubles play, Short and partner Alex Marcell extended their current winning streak to 12 after doubling up Gebert and Maggie MacPhail, 8-4.  The DU duo is now 17-2 in doubles play, all of which came at the top flight.

Denison also received a singles win from senior Kate Westenberger.  Westenberger took down Claire Marshall 7-6 (7-4), 6-1 at the fourth flight en route to her second-consecutive win.

The Big Red falls to 7-11, while the Tigers improve to 14-6.  Denison returns to action on Friday at the NCAC Championship hosted by Kenyon College.