No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 09
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 10
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 11
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 30
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Oct 01
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Oct 02
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Fri Feb 17
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Greencastle, Ind. in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Feb 26
10:00 AM
Indiana (PA)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
2:00 PM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
6:00 PM
Denison
at Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
10:00 AM
Denison
at Wesleyan (Conn.)
in Middletown, Conn.
Thu Mar 23
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
4:30 PM
Lewis & Clark
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
TBA
Denison
vs. at Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis. in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
9:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
4:30 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red drops ITA opener to Wash U

Alex Marcell won in straight-sets at No. 3 singles against Washington (Mo.).
Alex Marcell won in straight-sets at No. 3 singles against Washington (Mo.).

The sixth-ranked Denison Big Red dropped a 6-3 decision to No. 14 Washington University on Friday in the opening round of the ITA Indoor Championships hosted by DePauw University.

The Big Red jumped out to an early lead when senior Sarah Short and junior Alex Marcell defeated the Bears' Evelyn Qin and Betsy Edershile 8-2 at first doubles.  Washington-St. Louis quickly tied the match with an 8-5 decision at the third flight.  At No. 2 doubles, DU's Kelsey Geppner and Kate Westenberger were logged in a tightly contested battle with Kate Klein and Theresa Petraskova.  With the set tied at 8-8, the Wash U. duo won the tiebreaker via 10-2 score to give the Bears a 2-1 lead after doubles play.

In singles action, Short tied the match at 2-2 with a straight-set victory over 14th-ranked Natalie Tingir (6-3, 6-4) at first singles.  Denison quickly took a 3-2 match lead when Marcell posted a 7-5, 6-0 decision over Qin at the third flight.  However, the Washington rattled off four-straight victories at second, fourth, fifth and sixth singles to win the match.

Denison falls to 1-2 overall, while the Bears improve to 2-0.  The Big Red returns to action on Saturday when they take on Claremont-Mudd-Scripps at 8:30 a.m.