Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 16
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Sep 22
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Mon Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
TBA
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Westlake, Ohio - Paramount Tennis Club
Sat Feb 10
TBA
Trinity (Tex.)
vs. Denison
@ North Ridgeville, Ohio - North Ridge Tennis Club
Sun Feb 11
8:00 AM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
Cleveland Skating Club
Fri Feb 16
4:30 PM
Northwestern Ohio
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
6:00 PM
Denison
vs. Allegheny
@ Erie, Pa. in Erie, Pa.
Sat Feb 24
TBA
Denison
vs. Indiana (PA)
@ Pittsburgh, Pa. in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Mar 02
TBA
Hope
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Kalamazoo
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
4:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
9:00 AM
Denison
vs. Towson
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 20
9:00 AM
Denison
vs. Colorado Col.
@ in Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
3:00 PM
Denison
at Fla. Southern
in Lakeland, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
9:00 AM
St. Lawrence
vs. Denison
@ in Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
12:00 PM
Shawnee St.
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
TBA
John Carroll
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 10
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
10:00 AM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
View Full Schedule

Big Red drops ITA opener to Wash U

Alex Marcell won in straight-sets at No. 3 singles against Washington (Mo.).
Alex Marcell won in straight-sets at No. 3 singles against Washington (Mo.).

The sixth-ranked Denison Big Red dropped a 6-3 decision to No. 14 Washington University on Friday in the opening round of the ITA Indoor Championships hosted by DePauw University.

The Big Red jumped out to an early lead when senior Sarah Short and junior Alex Marcell defeated the Bears' Evelyn Qin and Betsy Edershile 8-2 at first doubles.  Washington-St. Louis quickly tied the match with an 8-5 decision at the third flight.  At No. 2 doubles, DU's Kelsey Geppner and Kate Westenberger were logged in a tightly contested battle with Kate Klein and Theresa Petraskova.  With the set tied at 8-8, the Wash U. duo won the tiebreaker via 10-2 score to give the Bears a 2-1 lead after doubles play.

In singles action, Short tied the match at 2-2 with a straight-set victory over 14th-ranked Natalie Tingir (6-3, 6-4) at first singles.  Denison quickly took a 3-2 match lead when Marcell posted a 7-5, 6-0 decision over Qin at the third flight.  However, the Washington rattled off four-straight victories at second, fourth, fifth and sixth singles to win the match.

Denison falls to 1-2 overall, while the Bears improve to 2-0.  The Big Red returns to action on Saturday when they take on Claremont-Mudd-Scripps at 8:30 a.m.