Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 10
Final
6 #16 Trinity (Tex.)
3 vs. Denison
@ North Ridge Tennis Club in North Ridgeville, Ohio
Sun Feb 11
Final
1 Denison
8 vs. #18 Case Western Reserve
@ Cleveland Skating Club in Cleveland, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.
Sat Feb 24
Final
3 Denison
6 vs. Indiana (PA)
@ Club Sport & Health in Monroeville, Pa.
Fri Mar 02
Final
4 #21 Hope
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 03
Final
0 Kalamazoo
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
Final
8 Denison
1 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Mar 15
Final
2 Northwestern Ohio
7 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
Final
0 Denison
7 vs. Towson
@ USTA National Campus (Collegiate Courts 1-6) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 20
Final
7 Denison
2 vs. Colorado Col.
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 9-14) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
0 Denison
9 at Fla. Southern
in Lakeland, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
1 St. Lawrence
8 vs. Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts 15-20) in Orlando, Fla.
Tue Mar 27
Final
6 #22 Kenyon
3 #35 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
0 Shawnee St.
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
Final
1 John Carroll
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final
6 Denison
3 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 27
Final
0 Wittenberg
5 vs. Denison
@ North Central H.S. NCAC Tournament in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
Final
3 Oberlin
5 vs. Denison
@ North Central H.S. -- Indianapolis, IN in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
Final
0 #32 Denison
5 vs. #22 Kenyon
@ North Central H.S. in Indianapolis, Ind.
View Full Schedule

Big Red drops ITA opener to Wash U

Alex Marcell won in straight-sets at No. 3 singles against Washington (Mo.).
Alex Marcell won in straight-sets at No. 3 singles against Washington (Mo.).

The sixth-ranked Denison Big Red dropped a 6-3 decision to No. 14 Washington University on Friday in the opening round of the ITA Indoor Championships hosted by DePauw University.

The Big Red jumped out to an early lead when senior Sarah Short and junior Alex Marcell defeated the Bears' Evelyn Qin and Betsy Edershile 8-2 at first doubles.  Washington-St. Louis quickly tied the match with an 8-5 decision at the third flight.  At No. 2 doubles, DU's Kelsey Geppner and Kate Westenberger were logged in a tightly contested battle with Kate Klein and Theresa Petraskova.  With the set tied at 8-8, the Wash U. duo won the tiebreaker via 10-2 score to give the Bears a 2-1 lead after doubles play.

In singles action, Short tied the match at 2-2 with a straight-set victory over 14th-ranked Natalie Tingir (6-3, 6-4) at first singles.  Denison quickly took a 3-2 match lead when Marcell posted a 7-5, 6-0 decision over Qin at the third flight.  However, the Washington rattled off four-straight victories at second, fourth, fifth and sixth singles to win the match.

Denison falls to 1-2 overall, while the Bears improve to 2-0.  The Big Red returns to action on Saturday when they take on Claremont-Mudd-Scripps at 8:30 a.m.