No Event
No Event
Sat Oct 14
12:00 pm
at Kenyon Swimming Relays 2nd Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
12:00 pm
Denison Diving Relays
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 21
1:00 pm
Eastern Michigan L, 184.5-115.5
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 03
6:00 pm
at Ohio State L, 201-92
in Columbus, Ohio
Fri Nov 03
6:00 pm
vs. Akron L, 207-92
@ in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Nov 04
1:00 pm
Xavier W, 145-117
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
10:00 am
at Kenyon L, 154-146
in Gambier, Ohio
Thu Nov 30
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
at Miami Invitational
in Oxford, Ohio
Fri Dec 01
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
at Miami Invitational
in Oxford, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
at Miami Invitational
in Oxford, Ohio
Mon Jan 15
at IUPUI
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Fri Jan 19
6:00 pm
at Pittsburgh
Sat Jan 20
1:00 pm
at Johns Hopkins
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 20
1:00 pm
at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Feb 03
10:00 am
Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Feb 15
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 16
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 24
12:30 pm
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Mar 02
at NCAA Diving Regional
Location is TBA
Sat Mar 03
at NCAA Diving Regional
Location is TBA
Wed Mar 21
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Thu Mar 22
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Fri Mar 23
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Mar 24
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women's swimming & diving opens 2017-18 campaign

Allison Fitzgerald  |  Photo by Jason Miller
Allison Fitzgerald | Photo by Jason Miller

GAMBIER, Ohio--  The Denison women's swimming & diving team kicked off the season with the Kenyon Swimming Relays and the Denison Diving Relays on Saturday afternoon.  The Big Red posted three victories and five second-place finishes. That resulted in a second-place team finish at the event. 

Denison totaled 112 points, 12 points off the winning pace set by Kenyon College.  Wooster placed third with 54 points, followed by Ohio Wesleyan (42), Ohio Northern (40), Oberlin (28), Trinity University (20) and Wittenberg (18).

At the Denison Diving Relays, 2017 All-American Allison Fitzgerald was a part of the winning 1-meter relay and 3-meter relay.  In the 1-meter she posted a six-dive score of 248.75.  Combined with Emma Weber's 223.35 and DU posted a total of 472.10 to win by 69 points.

On the 3-meter board, Fitzgerald paced the Big Red with a score of 232.85.  Naomi Clayton finished right behind with 231.25 for a score of 464.10.  Trinity (Texas) placed second in both events.

At the Kenyon Swimming Relays, Denison's victory came in the 200 breaststroke relay where Kate Mesaros, Ellen Higdon, Michaela Morrison and KT Kustritz broke the meet record by two seconds with a time of 2:00.02.

In the 200 medley relay, Casey Kirby, Kustritz, Angela Le and Gabriella Nutter combined for a time of 1:45.34.  The 500 Crescendo Relay featured Kirby, Kustritz, Erica Hsu and Hannah Rusinko and the foursome touched in 4:42.72.

In the 200 butterfly relay, Angela Le, Kustritz, Maddie Hopkins and Kirby logged a time of 1:44.68.  Three DU swimmers teamed up for the 3x500 relay as newcomers Logan Wickman and Sydney Lenz joined Rusinko for a combined time of 16:04.87 to place third.

Natalie Zaravella, Mesaros, Halli Garza and Kustritz were the runner-up's in the 400 IM relay in 4:02.67.  In the 200 free relay, Kirby, Kustritz, Morrison and Nutter touched in 1:38.18 to take second place.

Another second place finish was recorded in the mixed 200 medley relay when Kirby and Kustritz teamed with Liam Marsden-Readford and Zach Wagner from the men's team to touch in 1:39.33.

On the day, Kustritz swam on one first-place relay and six second-place relays.

Denison will open their dual meet schedule next Saturday, Oct. 21, when they host Division I Eastern Michigan at the Trumbull Aquatics Center.