Sat Oct 14
12:00 pm
at Kenyon Swimming Relays 2nd Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
12:00 pm
Denison Diving Relays
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 21
1:00 pm
Eastern Michigan L, 184.5-115.5
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 03
6:00 pm
at Ohio State
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Nov 04
1:00 pm
Xavier
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
10:00 am
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Thu Nov 30
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
at Miami Invitational
in Oxford, Ohio
Fri Dec 01
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
at Miami Invitational
in Oxford, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
at Miami Invitational
in Oxford, Ohio
Mon Jan 15
at IUPUI
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Fri Jan 19
6:00 pm
at Pittsburgh
Sat Jan 20
1:00 pm
at Johns Hopkins
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 20
1:00 pm
at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Feb 03
10:00 am
Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Feb 15
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 16
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 24
12:30 pm
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Mar 02
at NCAA Diving Regional
Location is TBA
Sat Mar 03
at NCAA Diving Regional
Location is TBA
Wed Mar 21
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Thu Mar 22
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Fri Mar 23
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Mar 24
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Women place fifth at Miami Invitational

Halli Garza
Halli Garza

OXFORD, Ohio—Halli Garza won the 200 fly and KT Kustritz broke another varsity record as Denison placed fifth at the 2016 Miami Invitational.  DU finished with 503 points, just 4.5 points behind fourth-place, Bowling Green.  Third-place went to Milwaukee with 569 points while second-place was occupied by Emory with 643.5.  The team championship went to Miami with 1,138.5 points.  Finishing in positions 6-10 was Washington-St. Louis (303), Ball State (286.5), Indiana (256), Missouri-St. Louis (52) and Urbana (24).

Garza, already Denison's record-holder in the 200 fly, won the event with a season-best time of 2:02.48.  Zoe Whelan took third in 2:04.39.  Both times were NCAA provisional qualifying times and Whelan's prelim time of 2:04.16 will go down as her best of the season.

On Friday, Kustritz broke Natalie Lugg's varsity record in the 100 breaststroke. On Saturday she duplicated the feat, placing third in the 200 breaststroke with a career-best time of 2:15.90, breaking Lugg's school record time of 2:16.29 set in 2014.  In the C-Final of the 200 breast, Kate Mesaros won the race with a 'B' cut time of 2:22.33.

The night was kicked off by Campbell Costley in the 1,650 freestyle where she placed sixth with a time of 16:57.85.  Natalie Zaravella took 12th in 17:15.11 and Hannah Rusinko ended in 18th at 17:31.28.  All three times were 'B' cuts.

Carolyn Kane was DU's top performer in the 100 freestyle after a 'B' cut time of 50.86.  In the 200 backstroke, it was Erica Hsu's 11th place finish and time of 2:02.11 that set the pace for Denison.  Casey Kirby was 19th to win the C-Final with a 'B' cut of 2:02.77.  Jacquelyn Kurkjian followed in 22nd place in 2:03.65.

The Miami Invitational was wrapped up with a fifth-place finish in the 400 free relay as Kane, Kirby, Nutter and Kustritz posted a time of 3:25.77.

Women knock off D-I Xavier
November 5, 2016 Women knock off D-I Xavier