Sat Oct 14
12:00 pm
at Kenyon Swimming Relays
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
12:00 pm
Denison Diving Relays
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 21
1:00 pm
Eastern Michigan
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 03
6:00 pm
at Ohio State
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Nov 04
1:00 pm
Xavier
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 11
10:00 am
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Thu Nov 30
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
at Miami Invitational
in Oxford, Ohio
Fri Dec 01
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
at Miami Invitational
in Oxford, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
at Miami Invitational
in Oxford, Ohio
Thu Jan 11
at IUPUI
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Fri Jan 19
6:00 pm
at Pittsburgh
Sat Jan 20
1:00 pm
at Johns Hopkins
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Jan 20
1:00 pm
at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Feb 03
10:00 am
Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Feb 15
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 16
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
10:30 am / 6:30 pm
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 24
12:30 pm
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Mar 02
at NCAA Diving Regional
Location is TBA
Sat Mar 03
at NCAA Diving Regional
Location is TBA
Wed Mar 21
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Thu Mar 22
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Fri Mar 23
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Mar 24
10:00 am / 6:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison Women too much for Kenyon

Gregg Parini (left) Carolyn Kane (right)
Gregg Parini (left) Carolyn Kane (right)

Powered by 12 event wins, Denison women's swimming & diving rolled to a 192.5-106.5 victory over Kenyon College on Saturday at the Trumbull Aquatics Center.

Denison piled up nine NCAA 'B' cut performances at the dual meet. Seven of the nine provisional times were season-best performances.

Senior Carolyn Kane won the 50 freestyle in 23.75 and touched first in the 100 fly in 56.57.  Both times were season-best 'B' cuts.  In the 100 fly, Zoe Whelan and Angela Le tied for second in 58.16.  Kane also anchored the second place 200 medley relay along with Casey Kirby, KT Kustritz and Le in 1:44.60. In the final event of the meet, the 400 free relay, Kane led things off along with Kirby, Carly Olsakovsky and Gabriella Nutter to touch in 3:31.21.

Halli Garza won the 200 fly and the 400 IM, posting season-best 'B' cuts in each event.  In the 200 fly, Garza won the race by more than five seconds in 2:03.26.  She returned in the 400 IM in 4:31.44.  Second-place went to Erica Hsu who also recorded a 'B' cut in by placing second in 4:33.23.

KT Kustritz continued to raise some eyebrows as she improved upon her provisional qualifying time in the 100 breaststroke by hitting the wall in 1:02.98.  She also won the 200 breaststroke in 2:19.44.

In the distance freestyle events, Campbell Costley swept both events.  She recorded a season-best 'B' cut time of 4:57.46 in the 500 free.  She also won the 1,000 free in 10:20.43.  Second-place in the 1,000 went to Natalie Zaravella (10:31.33) while Hannah Rusinko placed third in 10:33.93.

Kirby was also a multi-event winner as she took first in the 100 back (56.91) and the 200 back in 2:04.68.  Erica Hsu placed second in the 200 back in 2:06.77.

In diving, Allison Fitzgerald won the 1-meter board with a six-dive score of 246.30.  Second-place went to Sarah Lopez (220.28) and Eva Vivero placed third (214.80).  In the 3-meter dive, Emma Weber was the winner with a score of 240.98.  Fitzgerald was second at 231.75 while Naomi Clayton placed third with a score of 220.95.

Denison's top performers were rounded out by Alex Elizeus and Hsu who went 2-3 in the 200 free with times of 1:54.85 and 1:55.65, respectively.  In the 100 free, Nutter placed second in 53.48.

The Big Red will return to competition on December 1 when they travel to Oxford, Ohio for the three-day Miami Invitational.

Women knock off D-I Xavier
November 5, 2016 Women knock off D-I Xavier