No Event
Sat Sep 23
Final
1 Denison
2 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Sep 27
Final
0 Westminster (Pa.)
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 30
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
0 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
0 DePauw
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 10
Final - 2OT
3 Denison
3 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
Final - OT
1 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
Final - OT
0 Denison
1 at Grove City
in Grove City, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Wooster
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 24
Final
0 Hiram
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Oct 28
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 01
Final - OT
2 Denison
3 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio - NCAC Semifinals
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Tigers turn away Big Red in OT

Emma Phinney  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Emma Phinney | Photo by Jace Delgado

SPRINGFIELD, Ohio -- Despite an equalizer from senior Grace Murray in the 85th minute, Denison women's soccer fell to Wittenberg University 2-1 in overtime on Saturday night at Edwards-Maurer Field.

The Tigers answered first in the 28th minute of play when Leah Soutar sent one of her two shots in the match into the goal, giving Wittenberg a 1-0 lead. For Denison, Murray attempted five corner kicks in the final 11 minutes of the first half, but the Big Red was unable to convert and the Tigers held a one-goal advantage entering the intermission.

After Wittenberg led for more than 84 minutes of the match, DU made their lone shot of the second half count in the 85th minute when Murray accepted a pass from sophomore Emma Phinney and finished it in the back of the net to tie the match up at 1-1. The tie score stood for the final five minutes of regulation, forcing overtime.

Less than five minutes into overtime, the Tigers capitalized when Jordyn Wright found Kenzie Mason, finalizing a 2-1 overtime win over the Big Red.

Denison's goalkeeper Jenny Herold played in all 94:21 for the Big Red and recorded four saves. For Wittenberg, Hannah Wilson turned in a full match effort with a two-save performance.

DU will return to action on Tuesday, Oct. 17 when they travel to Grove City, Pennsylvania for a 4 p.m. contest with Grove City College.