No Event
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Denison
4 vs. Loras
@ Wheaton, Ill. in Wheaton, Ill.
Sat Sep 02
Final
2 Denison
1 vs. Whitworth
@ Wheaton, Ill. in Wheaton, Ill.
Wed Sep 06
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
0 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final - 2OT
0 Dominican (Ill.)
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
Final
0 #22 Washington and Lee
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final
0 Denison
1 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Sep 16
Final
1 Denison
0 at Centre
in Danville, Ky.
Sat Sep 23
Final
1 Denison
2 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Sep 27
Final
0 Westminster (Pa.)
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 30
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
0 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
0 DePauw
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 10
Final - 2OT
3 Denison
3 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
Final - OT
1 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
Final - OT
0 Denison
1 at Grove City
in Grove City, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Wooster
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 24
7:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Offense explodes as Denison topples Westminster

Meg Wozniak, Grace Murray and Maggie Armstrong  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Meg Wozniak, Grace Murray and Maggie Armstrong | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Goals from Meg Wozniak and Maggie Armstrong helped the Big Red score early and often as Denison blanked Westminster College (Pa.) 5-0 on Wednesday night at Barclay-Thomsen Field.

Wozniak opened the scoring effort in the 6th minute when she sent a shot off the outstretched hands of Westminster's goalkeeper Laura Page into the back of the net. Armstrong gave Denison a 2-0 advantage less than a minute later when she accepted a pass from Wozniak and finished it in the lower left-hand corner of the goal. The pair added goals in the 25th and 36th minutes, respectively, to take a 4-0 lead into intermission.

Outshooting the Titans 20-0 in the first half, the Big Red wasted no time in the 54th minute as senior Grace Murray attacked the keeper one-on-one and slipped it past Page for her first goal of the season to take a 5-0 lead.

The Denison combination of Jenny Herold, Olivia Robinson and Maddie Coyne combined for a shutout in goal. In 90 minutes of play, the trio totaled three saves. On the other side of the pitch, Page posted 11 saves for the Titans in a full match effort.

Wozniak added two assists to her two-goal performance while Armstrong tied Murray for the match lead with five total shots taken.

The Big Red outshot Westminster 32-3 for the night and have now won three out of their last five matches. The victory moves DU to 4-3-2 overall while Westminster drops to 5-4.

Denison will hit the road this Saturday, Sept. 30 as they travel to Gambier, Ohio for a 1 p.m. match with Kenyon College.