No Event
No Event
Wed Sep 27
Final
0 Westminster (Pa.)
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 30
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
0 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
Final
0 DePauw
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 10
Final - 2OT
3 Denison
3 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
Final - OT
1 Denison
2 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
Final - OT
0 Denison
1 at Grove City
in Grove City, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
Final
2 Wooster
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 24
Final
0 Hiram
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - Piper Stadium
Sat Oct 28
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 01
Final - OT
2 Denison
3 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio - NCAC Semifinals
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Polar Bears slide by Big Red

Jenny Herold  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Jenny Herold | Photo by Jace Delgado

ADA, Ohio—The competitive non-conference rivalry between Denison and Ohio Northern on the women's soccer pitch continued on Wednesday.  After nearly 58 minutes of scoreless play, ONU's Jenna Fuller scored the first goal of the match off a pass from Rose Nienaber.  That tally would stand despite a pair of shots on goal by Denison over the final 17 minutes.

Denison and Ohio Northern were meeting for the 11th consecutive season.  Denison holds a 6-3-2 record during that span but nine of the 11 contests have been decided by one goal or have ended in a draw.

For Denison, Meg Wozniak and Allison Vilsack led the way with two shots apiece. After Fuller's goal, Wozniak sent a shot on-goal in the 74th minute and Vilsack followed with one in the 85th minute.  Jenny Herold posted a career-high 10 saves in goal for the Big Red.  Her previous high was nine set last season against Salisbury University.

Herold's counterpart, Meagan Grierson, finished with four saves while playing all 90 minutes.  Sarah Puntel led Ohio Northern in shots with five.

Ohio Northern (3-1-1) held a 14-9 advantage in shots and a narrow 4-3 lead in corner kicks. 

Denison (2-2-2) will travel to Danville, Kentucky on Saturday, Sept. 16 to face Centre College at 1 p.m.