Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Fri Aug 31
3:00 PM
Denison
at RIT
in Rochester, N.Y.
Sat Sep 01
1:00 PM
Nazareth
vs. Denison
@ RIT in Rochester, N.Y.
Wed Sep 05
7:00 PM
Otterbein
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 08
TBA
Buffalo State
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 09
TBA
Shenandoah
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
1:00 PM
Centre
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 22
12:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 25
7:30 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Sep 29
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 06
2:30 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Oct 10
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 13
3:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 17
7:00 PM
Thomas More
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 20
12:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red capitalize early to defeat #22 W&L

Allison Vilsack is mobbed after her goal  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Allison Vilsack is mobbed after her goal | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- Thanks to an early goal from senior Allison Vilsack, the Denison women's soccer program defeated No. 22 Washington and Lee University 1-0 on Sunday afternoon at Barclay-Thomsen Field.

The Big Red controlled the afternoon with their aggressive offense, outshooting the Generals 10-9, and a 25-yard strike from Vilsack in the ninth minute of the match sealed the deal early on for Denison. 

After a shot by Denison's Maggie Armstrong was deflected and cleared away by the Washington and Lee defense, Vilsack finished her shot over the leaping General keeper Leeann Passaro to take an early 1-0 lead.

The Big Red were helped in the winning effort by senior goalkeeper Jenny Herold. In a full 90 minutes, Herold earned her third clean sheet of the season with a four-save performance. Outside of the goal allowed to Vilsack, Washington and Lee's Passaro totaled a five-save outing while playing all 90 minutes. The Denison defense also shined on the afternoon as Vilsack and first-year Kelly O'Neill led the way for the Big Red backline with timely clearances and efficient play.

In the 87th minute, the Generals were looking to equalize the match with a one-on-one offensive attack, but a sliding deflection by Herold kept Washington and Lee off the board and finalized the victory for the Big Red. The win moved DU to 2-1-2 on the season.

Denison will return to action on Wednesday, September 13 when they travel to Ada, Ohio to take on Ohio Northern at 4:30 p.m.