No Event
No Event
Fri Sep 01
Final
1 Denison
4 vs. Loras
@ Wheaton, Ill. in Wheaton, Ill.
Sat Sep 02
Final
2 Denison
1 vs. Whitworth
@ Wheaton, Ill. in Wheaton, Ill.
Wed Sep 06
Final - 2OT
0 Denison
0 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Sep 09
Final - 2OT
0 Dominican (Ill.)
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
Final
0 #22 Washington and Lee
1 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 13
Final
0 Denison
1 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Sep 16
Final
1 Denison
0 at Centre
in Danville, Ky.
Sat Sep 23
12:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Sep 27
7:00 PM
Westminster (Pa.)
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 30
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 07
3:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 10
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Oct 14
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Tue Oct 17
4:00 PM
Denison
at Grove City
in Grove City, Pa.
Sat Oct 21
12:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 24
7:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 28
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison-Dominican match ends in 0-0 tie

Grace Murray  |  Photo by Frank Agin
Grace Murray | Photo by Frank Agin

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  For the second consecutive match, Denison played their opponent to a scoreless draw.  On Saturday afternoon at Barclay-Thomsen Field, in the Big Red's 2017 home opener, DU and Dominican University (Ill.) went the distance in a 0-0 tie.

Denison held an 8-7 advantage in shots.  Five of the Big Red's eight shot attempts resulted in saves by Dominican goalkeeper Abbey Brown.  On the flip side, Dominican placed four its seven shot attempts on-frame, resulting in saves by Big Red keeper Jenny Herold.

In the first overtime, Denison co-captain Sam Haseltine had a shot saved by Brown in the 94th minute.  One minute later, Dominican's Samantha Hatfield was denied by Herold.

Things also got tense in the close seconds of the second overtime.  After the Stars were awarded a corner kick with under 20 seconds to play, Hatfield's attempt in the closing seconds was bending toward the goal.  Herold fought through some traffic and made the save with seconds left on the clock, preserving the tie.

Meg Wozniak led Denison (1-1-2) with three shots.  Hatfield, Jackie Viola and Tania Paez attempted two shots for Dominican (3-0-1).

The Big Red returns to Barclay-Thomsen Field on Sunday for a 1 p.m. kick against No. 22 Washington and Lee.