Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Fri Aug 31
3:00 PM
Denison
at RIT
in Rochester, N.Y.
Sat Sep 01
1:00 PM
Nazareth
vs. Denison
@ RIT in Rochester, N.Y.
Wed Sep 05
7:00 PM
Otterbein
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 08
TBA
Buffalo State
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 09
TBA
Shenandoah
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
1:00 PM
Centre
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 22
12:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Sep 25
7:30 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Sep 29
3:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 06
2:30 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Oct 10
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 13
3:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 17
7:00 PM
Thomas More
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 20
12:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison-Dominican match ends in 0-0 tie

Grace Murray  |  Photo by Frank Agin
Grace Murray | Photo by Frank Agin

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  For the second consecutive match, Denison played their opponent to a scoreless draw.  On Saturday afternoon at Barclay-Thomsen Field, in the Big Red's 2017 home opener, DU and Dominican University (Ill.) went the distance in a 0-0 tie.

Denison held an 8-7 advantage in shots.  Five of the Big Red's eight shot attempts resulted in saves by Dominican goalkeeper Abbey Brown.  On the flip side, Dominican placed four its seven shot attempts on-frame, resulting in saves by Big Red keeper Jenny Herold.

In the first overtime, Denison co-captain Sam Haseltine had a shot saved by Brown in the 94th minute.  One minute later, Dominican's Samantha Hatfield was denied by Herold.

Things also got tense in the close seconds of the second overtime.  After the Stars were awarded a corner kick with under 20 seconds to play, Hatfield's attempt in the closing seconds was bending toward the goal.  Herold fought through some traffic and made the save with seconds left on the clock, preserving the tie.

Meg Wozniak led Denison (1-1-2) with three shots.  Hatfield, Jackie Viola and Tania Paez attempted two shots for Dominican (3-0-1).

The Big Red returns to Barclay-Thomsen Field on Sunday for a 1 p.m. kick against No. 22 Washington and Lee.