Sat Sep 03
2:00 PM
Denison
vs. Oneonta St.
@ William Smith in Geneva, N.Y.
Sun Sep 04
2:00 PM
Denison
at William Smith
in Geneva, N.Y.
Wed Sep 07
6:30 PM
Otterbein
Denison
in Granville, Ohio at Piper Stadium
Sat Sep 10
2:30 PM
Carleton
Denison
in Granville, Ohio at Piper Stadium
Sun Sep 11
12:00 PM
Salisbury
Denison
in Granville, Ohio at Piper Stadium
Wed Sep 14
4:30 PM
Ohio Northern
Denison
in Granville, Ohio at Piper Stadium
Sat Sep 17
1:00 PM
Centre
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 21
7:30 PM
John Carroll
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 24
4:30 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Sep 28
7:00 PM
Case Western Reserve
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 01
5:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Oct 08
12:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 12
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Oct 15
1:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 22
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Oct 26
7:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 29
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red shuts out No. 8 Centre

Andrea Karl made a career-high 10 saves in DU's win at No. 8 Centre.
Andrea Karl made a career-high 10 saves in DU's win at No. 8 Centre.

The Denison women's soccer team picked up a key regional victory over eighth-ranked Centre College on Saturday in Danville, Ky.

The Big Red offense took control in the opening 45 minutes.  Eight of DU's 14 shots were on goal, while the Colonels were limited to just three attempts (two on goal).

Denison first-year Lydia Harlan broke the scoreless tie early in the second period.  Harlan's team-leading fourth goal of the season was an unassisted tally in the 61st minute.

The Big Red held a slight 10-9 edge in shots in the second frame.  Centre put eight of their attempts on goal, but failed to score the equalizer.

Sophomore goalkeeper Andrea Karl corralled a career-high 10 saves en route to her sixth shutout of the season.  The Colonels' Kelli Lenz made 11 stops.

Senior Tory Danis attempted a game-high eight shots, while Harlan had six shots and one goal.  Anne Mitchell and Morgan Collins each took three shots to pace the Centre offense.

Denison improves to 4-3-2 overall, while the Colonels fall to 6-1 on the season.  DU returns to action on Wednesday when travel to Pittsburgh, Pa. for a 7 p.m. match against Carnegie Mellon University.