No Event
No Event
Sun Mar 12
Final
8 Denison
7 vs. Springfield
@ NTC-Florida in Clermont, Fla.
Wed Mar 15
Final
8 Rensselaer
13 vs. Denison
@ @ NTC-Florida in Clermont, Fla.
Fri Mar 17
Final
7 Denison
16 vs. Rowan
@ @ NTC-Florida in Clermont, Fla.
Sat Mar 25
Final
5 Denison
17 at #6 Cortland St.
in Cortland, N.Y.
Tue Mar 28
Final
15 Denison
7 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
13 Wittenberg
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
Final
15 Denison
12 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Apr 12
Final
3 DePauw
16 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
0 Hiram
22 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 18
Final
18 Denison
9 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
Final
18 Denison
4 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 26
Final
5 Kenyon
17 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
Final
13 Denison
10 vs. Stevenson
@ Bethel Park High School in Bethel Park, Pa.
Wed May 03
Final
9 Wittenberg
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat May 06
Final
10 Oberlin
15 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Championship
Sun May 14
Final
17 Brockport St.
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament Second Round
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison opens NCAC Tourney against Wittenberg

Jane Goodspeed
Jane Goodspeed

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  The postseason begins on Wednesday (May 3) for the Denison women's lacrosse team.  Winners of nine-straight, they enter the 2017 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament as league champions and the No. 1 seed.

Denison (13-3) will host No. 4 seed, Wittenberg University (11-6), on Wednesday at 5 p.m. at Piper Stadium.  This is a rematch of last year's NCAC Tournament title game that saw the Big Red come away with a 14-10 victory.

DU is led by senior attacker Claire Ludlow. The 2016 IWLCA All-American has scored 38 goals and dished out 23 assists in addition to winning 37 draw controls.  Her 170 goals and 69 assists (239) ranks her second in Denison history in career points, second in assists and third in goals.

The Big Red boasts a balanced offensive attack with six players with at least 21 goals.  First-year attacker Kiely Noonan leads the squad with 41 goals.

Defensively, sophomore Jane Goodspeed leads a group that has caused 184 of their opponents' 333 turnovers this season.  Goodspeed is the team leader in draw controls (49), caused turnovers (29) and ground balls (38).

Wittenberg is led by Emily Wadds who leads the NCAC in draw controls with 149. She has scored 57 goals while teammate Becca Joseph has tallied 58 goals and 50 assists.

Tickets for the semifinal are $7 for adults and $3 for children 18 and under.  Students with a valid ID from an NCAC institution are admitted free of charge.

The winner of Wednesday's semifinal will meet the winner of the other semifinal between No. 2 Oberlin and No. 3 Allegheny on Saturday (May 6) on the home field of the highest remaining seed.  

#9 Brockport rallies past DU
February 26, 2017 #9 Brockport rallies past DU