No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 25
Final
9 Fredonia
17 Denison
Sun Feb 26
Final
11 #9 Brockport
5 Denison
Sat Mar 04
Final
15 Denison
6 vs. Allegheny
@ Greenville, Pa. in Greenville, Pa.
Sun Mar 12
Final
8 Denison
7 vs. Springfield
@ NTC-Florida
Wed Mar 15
Final
8 Rensselaer
13 vs. Denison
@ @ NTC-Florida
Fri Mar 17
Final
7 Denison
16 vs. Rowan
@ @ NTC-Florida
Sat Mar 25
Final
5 Denison
17 at #6 Cortland St.
Tue Mar 28
7:30 PM
Denison
at Mount Union
Sat Apr 01
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
Sat Apr 08
1:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
Wed Apr 12
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
Sat Apr 15
1:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
Tue Apr 18
6:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
Sat Apr 22
3:30 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
Wed Apr 26
6:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
Sat Apr 29
TBA
Stevenson
vs. Denison
@ Neutral Site TBA
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red opens NCAC with a win over Allegheny

Jane Goodspeed
Jane Goodspeed

GREENVILLE, Pa.--  Denison scored six of the game's first seven goals.  That cushion helped the Big Red to a 15-6 win over Allegheny College from Rissell-Schreyer Field on the campus of Thiel College.

Five minutes into the game, Denison took a 3-0 lead behind goals from Kiely Noonan, Reid Hirschey and Claire Ludlow.  The Gators got on the board eight minutes into the contest as Lexi Einsing scored after a Denison turnover.  The celebration was short lived for Allegheny as Noonan won the ensuing draw and scored via a fast-break goal, seconds later.

After the Allegheny goal, a caused turnover by Denison's Jane Goodspeed resulted in another fast-break score by Noonan.

Denison went into the halftime intermission with a 9-4 lead.  The score remained that way until five minutes into the second half when Hirschey scored her second goal of the day off a feed from Ludlow.  The Big Red struck again with another transition goal off a draw control by Ludlow and with 24 minutes left DU was out in front, 11-4.  The Gators never got any closer as Denison closed out the game by scoring four of the final five goals to seal up the 15-6 win.

Noonan paced Denison with five goals on only five shot attempts.  She also notched an assist and two caused turnovers.  Ludlow and Hirschey both scored four goals on a combined 12 shot attempts.  Ludlow also led the team with three assists and five draw controls.  Goodspeed led the defense with four caused turnovers, five draw controls and three ground balls.

Also getting in the scoring column for DU was Claudia Rafi and Graham McIntosh who scored one goal apiece and Leander Perun, Maddy Heher and Kristine McNulty who each contributed an assist.

Denison's Hannah Magarian got the start in the cage and played 30 minutes.  She recorded six saves while facing 11 shots on goal.  Becca Jones played the second half and turned in three saves while facing four shots on goal.

Denison and Allegheny (1-1, 0-1 NCAC) tied in shots, 27-27 but DU held a 13-10 advantage in draws controlled. 

The Big Red (2-1, 1-0 NCAC) will return to action on Sunday, March 12 when they face Springfield College in Clermont, Florida at 5 p.m.