Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sun Feb 25
1:00 PM
Denison
at Fredonia
in Fredonia, N.Y.
Thu Mar 01
4:00 PM
Redlands
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 04
1:00 PM
Denison
at Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 14
7:30 PM
Ill. Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
2:00 PM
Dickinson
vs. Denison
@ Memphis, Tenn. In Nashville, Tenn.
Tue Mar 20
5:00 PM
Rhodes
vs. Denison
@ Nashville, Tenn. in Nashville, Tenn.
Sun Mar 25
3:00 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
12:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
11:00 AM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
2:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
6:30 PM
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
1:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Mother nature can't stop the Big Red

Carol Allen hung 9 points on the DePauw Tigers.
Carol Allen hung 9 points on the DePauw Tigers.

A 40 minute delay for lighting couldn't slow down the Big Red women's lacrosse team as they streaked to a 20-4 victory over DePauw University from Piper Stadium in Granville.

Denison asserted itself early, taking an 8-0 lead midway through the first half.  With 2:16 to play in the half, and DU leading 15-2, the game was stopped due to a heavy thunderstorm which moved into the area.  After a 40 minute delay, Denison would outscore the Tigers 5-2 over the final 32:16 to log their 10th victory of the season.

The Big Red got an inspired effort from first-year Carol Allen who finished with a career-high nine points (4 goals, 5 assists).  Erin Keller followed with a career-high five goals and two assists in addition to her game-high eight draw controls.  Also getting into the action on the scoring end was Kelsey Wright who netted four goals on only five shots.  Sophomore attack, Molly Chapman, posted three caused turnovers, three ground balls while scoring one goal and adding one assist.  For the season, Chapman leads the team with 50 points (26 goals, 24 assists).

Grace Bodenmann played 44 minutes and recorded five saves while allowing two goals.  Laura Campbell played the final 16 minutes in cage for the Big Red.

DePauw was led Natalie Swiler who finished with two goals and four draw controls.  Goalie Amy Clark turned in seven saves while playing all 60 minutes.

Denison is off to its best start to a season at 10-0 since the 1992 team posted a perfect 16-0 season.  They will continue conference play on Sunday (April 14) when they travel to Ohio Wesleyan for a 1 p.m. draw with the Battling Bishops.

This game also marked the first Lax 4 Liz game, played in memory of former Denison student Elizabeth Minter who lost her battle with brain cancer in May.  T-shirts were sold at the game with proceeds going to Elizabeth's Hope, a foundation that was started by Elizabeth and her family in 2011 with the intent to discover new treatment options for rare and inoperable brain tumors in children and adolecents.  For more information visit www.elizabethshope.com.