No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 25
Final
9 Fredonia
17 Denison
Sun Feb 26
Final
11 #9 Brockport
5 Denison
Sat Mar 04
Final
15 Denison
6 vs. Allegheny
@ Greenville, Pa. in Greenville, Pa.
Sun Mar 12
Final
8 Denison
7 vs. Springfield
@ NTC-Florida
Wed Mar 15
Final
8 Rensselaer
13 vs. Denison
@ @ NTC-Florida
Fri Mar 17
Final
7 Denison
16 vs. Rowan
@ @ NTC-Florida
Sat Mar 25
Final
5 Denison
17 at #6 Cortland St.
Tue Mar 28
Start of 1st
0 Denison
0 at Mount Union
Sat Apr 01
3:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
Sat Apr 08
1:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
Wed Apr 12
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
Sat Apr 15
1:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
Tue Apr 18
6:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
Sat Apr 22
3:30 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
Wed Apr 26
6:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
Sat Apr 29
TBA
Stevenson
vs. Denison
@ Neutral Site TBA
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Offensive explosion sends DU past OWU

Jenny Strathern scored 5 goals in Denison's 19-5 win over OWU.
Jenny Strathern scored 5 goals in Denison's 19-5 win over OWU.

Jenny Strathern scored five goals and Alex Thurner added four more as the Denison Big Red rolled to a 19-5 win over Ohio Wesleyan on Saturday night from Deeds Field-Piper Stadium.  The Big Red avenged a 9-7 loss to the Battling Bishops a season ago by pouring on the offense from the opening whistle.

Denison's offense could not be stopped, and more importantly, Ohio Wesleyan could not gain possession.  The Big Red won the first 10 draw controls of the contest and dominated the category 20-6 over the course of the 60 minute game.  

Leading 2-1 nine minutes into the game, Denison's Olivia Shiland scored back-to-back goals that would spark a 10-2 run for the Big Red sending them into halftime with a commanding 12-3 lead.

In the second half it was more of the same as Shiland started things off with her third goal of the game.  Phoebe Myhrum and Molly Cornbrooks followed to give Denison their largest lead at 15-3.

Seven different players scored at least one goal for DU.  Strathern finished with five goals and one assist while Thurner tallied four goals and one assist.  Shiland and Cornbrooks both notched hat-trick's.  In addition, Cornbrooks paced her squad with six draws.  Myhrum was the team leader in assists with three, she also scored twice and had two ground balls and two caused turnovers.

Defensively, Denison's Carly Tschantz had three caused turnovers and four draws which followed her one goal and one assist.

The Big Red outshot OWU 42-14.  They also forced their opponents into 20 turnovers and a 60 percent clear percentage. With the victory Denison improves to 5-4 overall and 2-1 in the North Coast Athletic Conference.  Ohio Wesleyan drops to 2-7 and 0-2 in the NCAC.

DU's next contest will be on Wednesday when they travel to Oberlin for a 4:30 p.m. draw against the Yeowomen.