Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 15
Final
67 Denison
63 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
Final
73 Denison
51 at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
Final
87 Denison
92 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
Final
76 Carnegie Mellon
57 vs. Denison
@ Marietta, Ohio - Ban Johnson Arena in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Mount Union
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final
46 Denison
48 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
56 Denison
62 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Wittenberg
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
Final
72 Denison
49 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
Final
62 Denison
69 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
Final
63 Franklin
71 vs. Denison
@ The Capital Center (Columbus, Ohio) in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
Final
63 Denison
55 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
Final
73 Denison
67 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
Final
62 DePauw
48 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
Final
46 Denison
59 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
Final
62 Oberlin
53 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

Capital breaks away in second half to top Denison

Lucy Bancone  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Lucy Bancone | Photo by Jace Delgado

BEXLEY, Ohio -- Despite a 34-34 tie at the half, the Capital Crusaders totaled four players in double figures as they outlasted the Big Red, 69-62, on Friday night of the Capital/Marriott Columbus Airport Holiday Tournament in Bexley.

Shooting 48-percent from the field in the first half, including 4-of-9 from three, Denison's Valesha Province, Brittany Atkinson and Alison Schafer buried three of their perimeter shots in the first quarter to stay squared up with the Crusaders after the opening frame, 21-21.

After a pair of free throws from junior Isabella Luaces, the Big Red led 32-27 with 3:19 remaining in the second quarter. Capital finished the quarter on a 7-2 scoring run thanks to four consecutive points from Erin Risner and a three-pointer from Elle Folan with five seconds remaining in the half to tie the game at 34-34 heading into intermission.

Both sides traded buckets to open the second half, with DU taking a 45-41 advantage led by four points from Lauren Longbrake. In the final 6:39 of the third quarter, the Crusaders held the Big Red to 1-of-9 shooting and finished the frame on a 12-3 scoring run that included 4-of-4 from the charity stripe. CU carried a 53-48 lead into the final quarter of play.

The fourth quarter was led off by back-to-back layups from Lucy Bancone and Lauren Hofer to cut Denison's deficit to 53-52 with less than nine minutes to play. The next 5:40 of play belonged to Capital as they secured a 10-3 scoring advantage to lead 63-55 with 3:10 remaining.

With less than one minute to play, Longbrake connected on a layup to trail the Crusaders by only four, 63-59. Capital used the final 56 seconds to bury six of their 10 free throw attempts to end the night and hand the Big Red their fourth loss in the last five games.

Capital's Folan led all scorers with 20 points on 4-of-6 shooting from behind the arc, while Risner totaled 19 points and six rebounds. Regan Stonerock finished with a double-double on 10 points and 13 boards, and Annika Wachtman chipped in 10 points and three assists.

Denison was led by Longbrake's 15 points and eight rebounds, while Atkinson finished one point behind the team leader with 14. Province added nine points and three assists.

The Big Red will return to Bexley, Ohio on Saturday, Dec. 30 for day two of the Capital/Marriott Holiday Tournament as they take on Frankin College at 3 p.m.