Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Sat Dec 09
75 Wittenberg
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
72 Denison
49 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
62 Denison
69 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
63 Franklin
71 vs. Denison
@ The Capital Center (Columbus, Ohio) in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
63 Denison
55 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
73 Denison
67 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
62 DePauw
48 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
46 Denison
59 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
62 Oberlin
53 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
44 Kenyon
38 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
Final - OT
62 Denison
68 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
33 Ohio Wesleyan
65 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
52 Wooster
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
43 Denison
75 at #7 DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
54 Allegheny
71 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
55 Hiram
72 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Feb 20
52 Denison
66 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio (NCAC Quarterfinal)
View Full Schedule

Women’s Basketball rolls past MSJ

Alison Schafer  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Alison Schafer | Photo by Jace Delgado

CINCINNATI, Ohio -- Senior Brittany Atkinson and sophomore Lauren Hofer led the way with 16 points each as Denison women's basketball traveled south on Tuesday night and defeated Mount St. Joseph University, 73-51, at the Harrington Center.

Holding the Lions to 27% shooting for the game, including 3-of-17 from the field in the first and third quarters, Atkinson and sophomore Aliyah Hunter buried the first two three-pointers of the night to open the contest on a 10-4 scoring run for DU. The pair totaled seven points each in the first quarter to take a 22-15 lead into the second frame.

The Big Red began to pull away in the second quarter thanks to a combined eight points from Hofer and Sydney MacBlane that assisted in a 16-3 scoring run to end the half. Denison shot 50 percent from the floor in the second period and outrebounded the Lions, 10-6, to take a 41-25 lead into intermission.

Leading by 16 entering the second half, DU took a 20-point lead with 5:26 to play in the third when an MSJ turnover was finished by Alison Schafer to go up, 48-28. A pair of three from Addie Buzas helped the Big Red take a 51-32 lead entering the final quarter.

The Lions were able to outscore Denison 10-3 to begin the fourth, but the Big Red countered with back-to-back threes from Atkinson and Valesha Province to outscore Mount St. Joseph in all four periods and earn their third win of the season, 73-51.

Denison won the rebounding battle, 50-37, and had three different players finish with double-figures. Hofer (16) and Hunter (11) totaled career-highs in points scored, while Atkinson added eight rebounds to her 16 points. The Lions were led by Lainee Studer with 15 points and six assists and Maddie Haberthy's 12 points.

The Big Red will return to action this Saturday, Nov. 25 as they travel to Marietta, Ohio to take part in the 33rd annual Jim Meagle Turkey Shoot at Marietta College. They will square off with the Pioneers at 6 p.m. at Ban Johnson Arena.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine