No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Tue Nov 15
Final
56 Denison
59 at Wilmington (Ohio)
in Wilmington, Ohio
Fri Nov 18
Final
36 Otterbein
49 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 19
Final
56 #16 Ohio Northern
44 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Nov 21
Final
59 Denison
65 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Nov 26
Final
65 #14 Maryville (Tenn.)
53 vs. Denison
@ Crestview Hills, KY in Crestview Hills, Ky.
Sun Nov 27
Final
59 Denison
66 at #5 Thomas More
in Crestview Hills, Ky.
Wed Nov 30
Final
63 Case Western Reserve
48 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 03
Final
35 Kenyon
42 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 07
Final
51 Oberlin
46 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 10
Final
43 Denison
41 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 14
Final
46 Ohio Wesleyan
49 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 28
Final - OT
61 Denison
53 vs. Wis.-Platteville
@ Puerto Rico in San Juan, Puerto Rico
Thu Dec 29
Final
51 Denison
48 vs. #19 Albright
@ San Juan, P.R. in San Juan, Puerto Rico
Wed Jan 04
Final
63 Denison
62 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 07
Final
52 Allegheny
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 11
Final - 2OT
63 #17 DePauw
50 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 18
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 21
1:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 25
7:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 01
6:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 15
8:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red falls to Case Western Reserve

Jordan Holmes
Jordan Holmes

GRANVILLE -- The Denison women's basketball team suffered a 63-48 setback to Case Western Reserve on Wednesday night at Livingston Gymnasium.

After the Big Red opened the game with bucket by Jordan Holmes, the Spartans engineered a 13-0 run to take their largest lead of the quarter. Now trailing 18-7, Denison went on a 7-0 surge to shrink the deficit to four. Jess McCoy closed out the opening period with an old-fashioned three-point play to push the CWRU lead back to seven.

The Spartans held a double-digit lead for the majority of the second quarter en route to taking a 39-26 lead into the intermission. After two scoreless minute to open the third, Denison scored six unanswered points over the course of 66 second to close the margin to 39-32. Case Western Reserve built their largest lead of the game with a 15-6 run that resulted in a 54-38 advantage.

The Big Red put together an 8-1 run to open the final period, closing the gap to 57-48. However, a six-straight points over the final 3:30 secured the Spartan win.

Denison converted 37 percent (20-for-54) from the field while Case Western Reserve shot 39 percent (27-for-69) from the floor. The Big Red held a 43-33 advantage on the glass. The Spartans committed just four turnovers compared to DU's 18 and held a slim 32-30 edge in scoring in the paint.

Holmes led all scorers with 22 points on 10-of-12 from the field and a 2-for-3 showing at the charity stripe. She also grabbed 15 rebounds and blocked nine shots. Freshman Addie Buzas dished out three assists, while Alison Schafer corralled 10 boards, all on the defensive end.

Kara Hageman finished with 20 points, while Hillary Hellmann and Jess McCoy chipped in 18 and 15 points, respectively.  McCoy also grabbed eight rebounds, while Alexis Amburgey handed out five assists.

Denison falls to 1-6 on the year, while the Spartans improve to 5-2. The Big Red opens North Coast Athletic Conference play on Saturday (Dec. 3) when they host the Kenyon Ladies. Tip-off from Livingston Gym is slated for 1 p.m.