Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 15
Final
67 Denison
63 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
Final
73 Denison
51 at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
Final
87 Denison
92 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
Final
76 Carnegie Mellon
57 vs. Denison
@ Marietta, Ohio - Ban Johnson Arena in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Mount Union
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final
46 Denison
48 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
56 Denison
62 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Wittenberg
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
Final
72 Denison
49 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
Final
62 Denison
69 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
Final
63 Franklin
71 vs. Denison
@ The Capital Center (Columbus, Ohio) in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
Final
63 Denison
55 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
Final
73 Denison
67 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
Final
62 DePauw
48 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
Final
46 Denison
59 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

Second half surge helps Polar Bears top DU

Emily Krumpe
Emily Krumpe

GRANVILLE, Ohio-- An 11-0 run in the third quarter helped lift 23rd-ranked Ohio Northern to a 56-44 win over Denison University in the final game of the 2016 Denison Classic on Saturday at Livingston Gymnasium.

The Polar Bears never trailed in the contest, building an 11-point lead late in the opening period. ONU used a 13-2 run to start the second quarter to turn a seven-point advantage into a 31-13 lead with just under three minutes to play in the half. Sophomore Valesha Province answered the run with a triple, while senior Emily Krumpe knocked down a jumper on the ensuing DU possession to set the halftime score a 31-18.

The Big Red carried their late second quarter momentum into the third, closing the margin to nine with 7:02 on the clock. Freshman Alison Schafer knocked down a three-pointer on the opening possession of the second half and added a jumper. After the two squads traded buckets, Denison still trailed by nine at 34-25. Ohio Northern went on an 11-0 burst that resulted in their largest lead of the day at 45-25. The Polar Bears maintained a double-digit lead for the rest of the game, eventually walking off the court with a 56-44 victory.

Krumpe led the Big Red offense with 10 points to go along with four rebounds and a block, while Province added nine points, three rebounds and a steal. Senior Jordan Holmes grabbed a team-high eight rebounds and blocked three shots, while Gabrielle Nottage dished out three assists.

Britt Lauck paced ONU with 18 points and five steals, while Amy Bullimore added 13 tallies while corralling eight rebounds. Jenne Dirksen handed out four assists to go along with four rebounds.

At the conclusion of the game, Holmes was named to the Denison Classic All-Tournament team after averaging 13 points, 13 rebounds and 5.5 blocks over the weekend.

The Big Red falls to 1-2 on the year, while Ohio Northern improves to a perfect 3-0. Denison returns to action this Monday (Nov. 21) when they travel to the University of Mount Union. Tip-off from Alliance, Ohio is scheduled for 7:30 p.m.

DU edges Fighting Scots
January 4, 2017 DU edges Fighting Scots
#14 Maryville stops Big Red
November 26, 2016 #14 Maryville stops Big Red