Wed Nov 15
7:30 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
1:00 PM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
3:00 PM
Trine
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
5:00 PM
Denison
at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
6:00 PM
Denison
at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
1:00 PM
Denison
at Carnegie Mellon
in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
6:00 PM
Mount Union
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
3:00 PM
Franklin
vs. Denison
@ Capital Univ. in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
6:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 10
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Second half surge helps Polar Bears top DU

Emily Krumpe
Emily Krumpe

GRANVILLE, Ohio-- An 11-0 run in the third quarter helped lift 23rd-ranked Ohio Northern to a 56-44 win over Denison University in the final game of the 2016 Denison Classic on Saturday at Livingston Gymnasium.

The Polar Bears never trailed in the contest, building an 11-point lead late in the opening period. ONU used a 13-2 run to start the second quarter to turn a seven-point advantage into a 31-13 lead with just under three minutes to play in the half. Sophomore Valesha Province answered the run with a triple, while senior Emily Krumpe knocked down a jumper on the ensuing DU possession to set the halftime score a 31-18.

The Big Red carried their late second quarter momentum into the third, closing the margin to nine with 7:02 on the clock. Freshman Alison Schafer knocked down a three-pointer on the opening possession of the second half and added a jumper. After the two squads traded buckets, Denison still trailed by nine at 34-25. Ohio Northern went on an 11-0 burst that resulted in their largest lead of the day at 45-25. The Polar Bears maintained a double-digit lead for the rest of the game, eventually walking off the court with a 56-44 victory.

Krumpe led the Big Red offense with 10 points to go along with four rebounds and a block, while Province added nine points, three rebounds and a steal. Senior Jordan Holmes grabbed a team-high eight rebounds and blocked three shots, while Gabrielle Nottage dished out three assists.

Britt Lauck paced ONU with 18 points and five steals, while Amy Bullimore added 13 tallies while corralling eight rebounds. Jenne Dirksen handed out four assists to go along with four rebounds.

At the conclusion of the game, Holmes was named to the Denison Classic All-Tournament team after averaging 13 points, 13 rebounds and 5.5 blocks over the weekend.

The Big Red falls to 1-2 on the year, while Ohio Northern improves to a perfect 3-0. Denison returns to action this Monday (Nov. 21) when they travel to the University of Mount Union. Tip-off from Alliance, Ohio is scheduled for 7:30 p.m.

DU edges Fighting Scots
January 4, 2017 DU edges Fighting Scots
#14 Maryville stops Big Red
November 26, 2016 #14 Maryville stops Big Red