Wed Nov 15
Final
67 Denison
63 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
5:00 PM
Denison
at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
6:00 PM
Denison
at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
1:00 PM
Denison
at Carnegie Mellon
in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
6:00 PM
Mount Union
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
3:00 PM
Franklin
vs. Denison
@ Columbus, Ohio in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
6:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison extends streak to 9 with win over DePauw

Denison extends streak to 9 with win over DePauw

In a battle of the top two teams in the North Coast Athletic Conference, Denison held DePauw to 29 percent shooting from the field, resulting in a 61-49 win from Livingston Gymnasium.  The win extends the Big Red's winning streak to nine games while extending their lead in the NCAC to two games.

Leading by five at the half, the Tigers came out strong in the third quarter and a 3-pointer by Emily Budde with 7:16 left in the period tied the game at 31-31.  Denison proceeded to go on a 14-2 run over the remainder of the third quarter to take a 12-point lead into the fourth.  Bookend 3-pointers by Valesha Province started and ended the run for Denison.  In the moments between, the Big Red defense clamped down, forcing four turnovers.

Over the final 10 minutes, Denison maintained its double-digit lead.  Despite the Big Red's 17 turnovers, DePauw manufactured those miscues into only five points at the other end.

Jordan Holmes continued her rampage through the NCAC.  She was 9-of-12 from the field for 21 points.  She led all players with 15 rebounds and finished with six blocked shots while playing all 40 minutes for the 13th time this season.  This is her 16th double-double of the season and the 12thtime she has recorded six or more blocks in a game this season.

Province followed Holmes in the scoring column with 13 points, four rebounds and two assists in 22 minutes off the bench.  She was 4-of-8 from the field and 3-of-5 from long range.  Emily Krumpe tallied 10 points off a 5-for-10 shooting performance.  As a team, Denison shot 47 percent (26-of-55) and was 4-of-11 (.364) from 3-point land.

DePauw connected on only 6-of-29 shots in the first half. They improved in the second, shooting 36 percent.  Budde led the way with 23 points, five rebounds and three blocked shots.  Maya Howard came off the bench to score 10 points in 16 minutes.  Budde and Howard combined to go 13-of-26 from the field.  The rest of the team was a combined 5-for-36 (.138).

Winners of nine straight and 14 of their last 15, the Big Red will have a rematch with Wittenberg on Saturday, Jan. 30 at 1 p.m.  The Tigers handed Denison its only conference loss on Dec. 12 in Springfield.  DU hasn't lost since.

Holmes wins 5th NCAC POW award
February 23, 2016 Holmes wins 5th NCAC POW award
Big Red tops NCAC rival OWU
December 8, 2015 Big Red tops NCAC rival OWU
Holmes is named NCAC POW
November 17, 2015 Holmes is named NCAC POW
Denison tops Case in opener
November 13, 2015 Denison tops Case in opener