Wed Nov 15
Final
67 Denison
63 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
5:00 PM
Denison
at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
6:00 PM
Denison
at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
1:00 PM
Denison
at Carnegie Mellon
in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
6:00 PM
Mount Union
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
3:00 PM
Franklin
vs. Denison
@ Columbus, Ohio in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
6:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU suffers first NCAC loss at Witt

Taylor Lindquist

A 28-7 run in the second half helped propel the Wittenberg Tigers to a 50-40 North Coast Athletic Conference victory over Denison on Saturday afternoon at Pam Evans Smith Arena in Springfield, Ohio. The loss snapped the Big Red's five-game winning streak.

The Big Red led the entire first half, building a lead as large as nine in the early stages of the second quarter. Senior Taylor Lindquist turned a four-point edge  into a nine-point advantage with a 3-pointer and a layup on back-to-back Denison possessions. Wittenberg pulled to within five late in the half, but a jumper by Emily Krumpe gave DU a 22-15 lead at the break.

Off an Erica Holmes steal, senior Kellie Arter drained a triple to open the third-quarter scoring. Arter's three gave Denison its biggest lead of the afternoon at 25-15. The Tigers answered by orchestrating a 28-7 run that spanned almost a quarter and a half. The offensive outburst turned that double-digit deficit into an 11-point lead with 5:28 left in regulation. Teddi Tankersley gave Wittenberg their first lead of the game with a 3-pointer at the 1:38 mark of the third period.

The Big Red engineered an 8-2 spurt over the next four minutes that allowed them to pull within five. However, a layup by Haley Dannemiller and a 3-for-4 showing at the foul line by Riley McDonald secured the 10-point win.

Krumpe led the Denison offense with 10 points, while Jordan Holmes pulled down 15 rebounds. Arter had nine points thanks to three 3-pointers, while Krumpe, Akilah Fletcher and Niyah Gonzalez each had five boards.

Becca Ziska posted a game-best 14 points, while Taylore Bundy and Dannemiller had eight rebounds apiece. McDonald dished out five assists and grabbed six boards to go along with seven points.

The Big Red falls to 7-3 overall and 2-1 in the NCAC, while the Tigers move to 3-4 and 2-0 in conference play. Denison will take a two and a half week break from competition for the holidays before returning to action on Dec. 28 at the Smokey Ballenger Classic hosted by Otterbein University. DU will open the tournament against North Central on Dec. 28 at 5:30 p.m. before facing off against the host Cardinals on Dec. 29 at 5 p.m.

Holmes wins 5th NCAC POW award
February 23, 2016 Holmes wins 5th NCAC POW award
Big Red tops NCAC rival OWU
December 8, 2015 Big Red tops NCAC rival OWU
Holmes is named NCAC POW
November 17, 2015 Holmes is named NCAC POW
Denison tops Case in opener
November 13, 2015 Denison tops Case in opener