Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 15
Final
67 Denison
63 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
Final
73 Denison
51 at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
Final
87 Denison
92 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
Final
76 Carnegie Mellon
57 vs. Denison
@ Marietta, Ohio - Ban Johnson Arena in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Mount Union
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final
46 Denison
48 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
56 Denison
62 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Wittenberg
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
3:00 PM
Franklin
vs. Denison
@ Columbus, Ohio in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
6:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Denison suffers setback at Oberlin

Candise Love went 4-for-5 from the field at Oberlin on Wednesday night.
Candise Love went 4-for-5 from the field at Oberlin on Wednesday night.

Oberlin College shot 52 percent from the field and got a double-double from Christina Marquette in a 66-59 victory over Denison on Wednesday evening.

The two squads battled back-and-forth in the opening half, exchanging the lead 15 times during the 20-minute span.  The Big Red led by as many as three on two different occasions, including a 26-23 advantage following a Serafina Nuzzo jumper.

With the scored deadlocked at 29-29, sophomore Mary Margaret Habel knocked down a jumper to give DU a two-point lead.  The Yeowomen answered with a pair of triples by Lindsay Bernhardt and Malisa Hoak to enter the locker room with a 35-31 edge.

Denison trimmed the deficit to two early in the second, but a layup by Allison Anderson and a Marquette 3-pointer gave Oberlin a 40-33 advantage.  The Big Red responded by scoring 10 of the next 16 points to shrink the margin to three with 12:03 to play.

However, the home team orchestrated a 9-2 run to gain their first double-digit lead of the night, 55-45.  With 2:55 to play, Denison cut the deficit 60-56 behind a Nuzzo 3-pointer.  Marquette rebuilt Oberlin's lead with a layup and a pair of free throws.  Nuzzo hit another triple with 21 seconds on the clock to make it a five-point affair, but a fast-break layup by Lillian Jahan secured the win.

The Yeowomen knocked 27-of-52 attempts, while the Big Red hit just 38 percent from the field (24-for-63).  Oberlin held a 33-31 edge on the glass and a 36-29 scoring advantage in the paint.  Denison got 13 points off 19 Oberlin turnovers and converted 16 offensive rebounds into 14 tallies.

Nuzzo finished with 16 points and four rebounds, while Habel added 12 tallies and three boards.  Sophomore Candise Love chipped in eight points, while senior Nicole Coggins grabbed a team-best six rebounds.  Junior Gretchen Staubach dished out six assists, and senior Kyli Parker logged five steals off the bench.

Marquette led all scorers with 22 points and pulled down a game-high 14 rebounds.  She also dished out five assists, logged two blocks and two steals.  Katie Lucaites added 14 points off the bench after going a perfect 7-for-7 in 16 minutes of action.

DU falls to 13-11 overall and 8-7 in the NCAC, while the Yewomen improve to 9-16 and 4-12 in league play.  Denison closes out the regular season on Saturday at Hiram College.  Tip-off is slated for 2 p.m.