Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 15
Final
67 Denison
63 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
Final
61 Earlham
68 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
Final
58 #9 Trine
41 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
Final
73 Denison
51 at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
Final
87 Denison
92 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
Final
76 Carnegie Mellon
57 vs. Denison
@ Marietta, Ohio - Ban Johnson Arena in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
Final
61 Mount Union
63 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
Final
46 Denison
48 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
Final
56 Denison
62 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
Final
75 Wittenberg
69 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
Final
72 Denison
49 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
Final
62 Denison
69 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
Final
63 Franklin
71 vs. Denison
@ The Capital Center (Columbus, Ohio) in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
Final
63 Denison
55 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
Final
73 Denison
67 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 10
Final
62 DePauw
48 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
Final
46 Denison
59 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 20
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 24
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison suffers narrow loss to Battling Bishops

The Big Red suffered a 3-point loss at the hands of the Battling Bishops.
The Big Red suffered a 3-point loss at the hands of the Battling Bishops.

Kristen Henning and Emily Julius combined for 22 points and 19 rebounds helping Ohio Wesleyan to a 47-44 victory over the Denison Big Red from Branch Rickey Arena in Delaware, Ohio.

Denison trailed a majority of the game, but had an opportunity to tie the game when they regained possession with 18 seconds remaining.  Kyli Parker's 3-point attempt from the elbow was off the mark but Serafina Nuzzo was there with the rebound.  With the game clock winding down she quickly dribbled out to the corner and fired a turn-around 3-point try that was corralled by OWU's Mary Corbett with one second left.  The Big Red fouled Corbett on the rebound, sending her to the line where she missed the front end of a one-and-one.  The rebound went to Denison's Kinsey Bryant-Lees, but with no time outs remaining the Big Red did not have a change to attempt a desperation 3-pointer.

Nuzzo paced DU with 17 points while going 8-for-16 from the field.  She also snagged nine rebounds to go along with four steals in 38 minutes.  Parker followed with seven points in 22 minutes off the bench.  Mary Margaret Habel was the team leader with six assists.

OWU got 11 points and 10 boards from Julius and 11 points, nine rebounds and four assists from Henning.  Sarah McQuade chipped in nine points, four rebounds, three steals and three assists in 38 minutes.

The Battling Bishops held a 39-32 edge on the glass and were 9-of-14 from the charity stripe.  DU attempted only four free throws on the night and connected on all of them.  As a team, the Big Red shot 33 percent from the field while OWU connected at a 35 percent clip.

DU drops to 7-7 overall and 2-3 in the North Coast Athletic Conference while OWU improves to 3-11 and 2-3 in conference play.  Denison will try and rebound on Saturday when they host Wittenberg University at 1 p.m.