Wed Nov 15
7:30 PM
Denison
at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sat Nov 18
1:00 PM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 19
3:00 PM
Trine
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 21
5:00 PM
Denison
at Mt. St. Joseph
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat Nov 25
6:00 PM
Denison
at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Nov 26
1:00 PM
Denison
at Carnegie Mellon
in Marietta, Ohio
Wed Nov 29
6:00 PM
Mount Union
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 02
1:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Dec 06
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Dec 09
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 16
2:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Dec 29
7:00 PM
Denison
at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 30
3:00 PM
Franklin
vs. Denison
@ Capital Univ. in Columbus, Ohio
Wed Jan 03
6:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Jan 06
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 10
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 17
7:30 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Jan 31
6:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 07
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind
Sat Feb 10
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 14
7:30 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison suffers narrow loss to Battling Bishops

The Big Red suffered a 3-point loss at the hands of the Battling Bishops.
The Big Red suffered a 3-point loss at the hands of the Battling Bishops.

Kristen Henning and Emily Julius combined for 22 points and 19 rebounds helping Ohio Wesleyan to a 47-44 victory over the Denison Big Red from Branch Rickey Arena in Delaware, Ohio.

Denison trailed a majority of the game, but had an opportunity to tie the game when they regained possession with 18 seconds remaining.  Kyli Parker's 3-point attempt from the elbow was off the mark but Serafina Nuzzo was there with the rebound.  With the game clock winding down she quickly dribbled out to the corner and fired a turn-around 3-point try that was corralled by OWU's Mary Corbett with one second left.  The Big Red fouled Corbett on the rebound, sending her to the line where she missed the front end of a one-and-one.  The rebound went to Denison's Kinsey Bryant-Lees, but with no time outs remaining the Big Red did not have a change to attempt a desperation 3-pointer.

Nuzzo paced DU with 17 points while going 8-for-16 from the field.  She also snagged nine rebounds to go along with four steals in 38 minutes.  Parker followed with seven points in 22 minutes off the bench.  Mary Margaret Habel was the team leader with six assists.

OWU got 11 points and 10 boards from Julius and 11 points, nine rebounds and four assists from Henning.  Sarah McQuade chipped in nine points, four rebounds, three steals and three assists in 38 minutes.

The Battling Bishops held a 39-32 edge on the glass and were 9-of-14 from the charity stripe.  DU attempted only four free throws on the night and connected on all of them.  As a team, the Big Red shot 33 percent from the field while OWU connected at a 35 percent clip.

DU drops to 7-7 overall and 2-3 in the North Coast Athletic Conference while OWU improves to 3-11 and 2-3 in conference play.  Denison will try and rebound on Saturday when they host Wittenberg University at 1 p.m.