No Event
Tue Nov 15
Final
56 Denison
59 at Wilmington (Ohio)
in Wilmington, Ohio
Fri Nov 18
Final
36 Otterbein
49 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 19
Final
56 #16 Ohio Northern
44 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Nov 21
Final
59 Denison
65 at Mount Union
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Nov 26
Final
65 #14 Maryville (Tenn.)
53 vs. Denison
@ Crestview Hills, KY in Crestview Hills, Ky.
Sun Nov 27
Final
59 Denison
66 at #5 Thomas More
in Crestview Hills, Ky.
Wed Nov 30
Final
63 Case Western Reserve
48 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 03
Final
35 Kenyon
42 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 07
7:30 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 10
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 14
7:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 28
TBA
Denison
vs. Wis.-Platteville
@ Puerto Rico
Thu Dec 29
10:00 AM
Denison
vs. Albright
@ San Juan, P.R.
Wed Jan 04
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 07
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 11
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 18
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 21
1:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 25
7:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 01
6:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 08
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 11
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 15
8:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Staubach leads DU past OWU

Gretchen Staubach scored a career-high 22 points against OWU.
Gretchen Staubach scored a career-high 22 points against OWU.

Gretchen Staubach scored a career-high 22 points as Denison held off Ohio Wesleyan for a 58-50 victory from Livingston Gymnasium on Wednesday night.

The Battling Bishops got off to a fast start, shooting 60 percent from the field in the first half as DU was clinging to a two-point lead at the intermission.  Early in the second half, OWU took a four point lead with 12:49 to play.  That would spark a 16-2 run by the Big Red that would give Denison a 10-point lead with 8:13 remaining.

OWU would cut that lead to three with 5:32 left when a Helen Scheblo jumper fell.  DU would score six of the final seven points of the game over the last five minutes to seal up the victory.

Staubach was 8-for-9 from the field and 6-for-6 from the free throw line.  She also tied for the team lead with six rebounds and had two steals in 29 minutes.  Her 22 points was nine points more than her previous career high set against Mount Vernon Nazarene on Nov. 24.

Following Staubach was Serafina Nuzzo and Nicole Coggins with 11 points apiece.  Nuzzo dished out a game-high five assists while Coggins knocked down a pair of 3-pointers. 

Ohio Wesleyan committed 23 turnovers and Denison turned those into 19 points.  Kyli Parker ended with six steals in 29 minutes. 

Denison shot 40 percent from the field while OWU finished at 49 percent.  The Battling Bishops edged the Big Red on the boards, 30-29 but 11 of DU's 29 rebounds were on the offensive end.

The Big Red's next game is Sunday (Dec. 16) against Ohio Northern at 2 p.m.