Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No events to show.

Salukombo wins NCAC crown, DU takes 6th

Dee Salukombo won his first-ever NCAC title on Saturday.
Dee Salukombo won his first-ever NCAC title on Saturday.

Senior Dee Salukombo captured his first-ever North Coast Athletic Conference title on Saturday at the 2011 NCAC Championship meet hosted by Wittenberg University at John Bryan State Park.

After finishing third in his first three NCAC Championship appearances, Salukombo posted a personal best at the event en route to his first conference crown.  He crossed the line in 25:09.1, just six and a half seconds ahead over Wabash's Kevin McCarthy.  The senior is just the third DU male to win the NCAC event dating back to 1993.  The last Big Red runner to win the meet was former teammate Grant Russo in 2008.

Also posting a personal best at the event was fellow senior Alexander Chappars.  Chappars crossed the line in 10th place with a time of 26:14.3.  Chris Dunn finished third for Denison at 27:24.7, which was good enough for 39th place.  First-year John Williamson and junior Steven Johnson placed 52nd and 62nd, respectively, to round out the Big Red scoring.  Williamson clocked in at 27:50.2, while Johnson covered the course in 28:13.8.

Wabash took home the team title with 52 points, while Allegheny and Ohio Wesleyan finished second and third with 65 and 67 points, respectively.  Oberlin (115), DePauw (140) and Denison (146) occupied spots three through six.  Both Salukombo and Chappars received All-NCAC honors for their finish at the event.

In two weeks, Denison will compete at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional hosted by Oberlin College.