Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 02
11 a.m. / 1 p.m.
at Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
at Fighting Scots Invitational 5th Place
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
11 a.m. / 1 p.m.
Bob Shannon Invitational 5th Place
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
5 p.m. / 6:40 p.m.
at Ohio Wesleyan Open 4th Place
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 10
12 p.m.
at All-Ohio Championships 11th Place
in Westerville, Ohio
Mon Feb 12
9:00 a.m.
at 'Southern Indoor Challenge 7th Place
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Feb 17
12 p.m. / 2:30 p.m.
at Kenyon Classic 9th Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
10 a.m. / 11 a.m.
at Kent State Tune Up
in Kent, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
5 p.m. / 7 p.m.
NCAC Last Chance Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 24
1 p.m.
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 25
1:15 p.m.
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 02
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Mar 03
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Fri Mar 09
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala
Sat Mar 10
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala
Fri Mar 16
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Sat Mar 17
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Fri Mar 30
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Mar 31
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Apr 06
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in New Concord, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
at All-Ohio Combined Events
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
at All-Ohio Championships
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Apr 20
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Kenyon Spring Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 04
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat May 05
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Thu May 10
at Dr. Keeler Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Fri May 11
at Dr. Keeler Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Fri May 11
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Fri May 11
at Gator Invite
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed May 16
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 17
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 17
at Great Lakes Elite Meet
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu May 24
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Fri May 25
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Sat May 26
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red men take fifth at Fighting Scots Invite

Church Humphreys  |  Photo by Bret Dunbar
Church Humphreys | Photo by Bret Dunbar

WOOSTER, Ohio -- Garnering seven top-three finishes, including two individual victories, Denison men's track and field traveled to the College of Wooster on Saturday afternoon and earned a fifth-place finish at the Fighting Scots Invitational. Totaling 76.5 team points, the Big Red finished behind Oberlin College who finished in fourth place with 91 points, just being edged by Allegheny College in third with 92 points. Wittenberg University finished on top with 145 points, and host Wooster trailed in second with 110.5.

Headlining the afternoon was DU's showing in the triple jump, placing three competitors in the top four. Junior David Carter won the event with a jump of 45'3.75", while James Dixie followed with a 42'5.25" (3rd place) and Isaac Reed finished in fourth with a 41'0.25".

The Big Red added their second victory of the day when sophomore Ben Foster posted a personal-best time of 9:13.45 in the 3000-meter race. Clayton Watters (6th - 9:40.09), Adam Cromwell (9th - 9:53.77), and Rhys Fitschen-Brown (10th - 10:01.16) all joined Foster as top-10 finishers.

Denison secured three second-place finishes in the field events when Dixie landed a 5'7.25" in the high jump and senior Church Humphreys checked in with a height of 10'11.75" in the pole vault, tying with Jacob Nowell of Wooster. Sophomore Bryce Stricker broke his own program and personal record in the weight throw when he completed a toss of 50'6.25" to place second, and followed that up with a third-place finish in the shot put, landing a throw of 43'6.50".

Freshman Grant Balogh chipped in a pair of personal-bests and top-10 finishes for the Big Red when he finished the 200-meter event in 10th place with a 24.39, and then set a new PR in the 60-meter dash with a 7.48 (6th). Carter and Dee Brown also added personal records in the 60, with Carter tying for seventh place with a 7.49 and Brown placing in ninth with a 7.55.

Denison will return to action next Saturday, Feb. 3 when they host the Bob Shannon Invitational at Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville, as well as competing in the All-Ohio Combined Events meet hosted by Ohio Wesleyan University.