Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Fri Feb 09
Final
8 #9 Chicago
1 vs. Denison
@ Paramount Tennis Club in Westlake, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.
Sat Mar 03
Final
3 #28 Kalamazoo
6 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 21
Final
1 Hobart
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
1 Hope
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Wed Mar 28
Final
0 Wooster
9 #28 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
2 #29 Denison
7 at #9 Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Apr 04
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 at #19 Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 06
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Mo. Baptist
in Creve Coeur, Mo.
Sat Apr 07
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 vs. #10 Washington (Mo.)
@ Kings Point Sports Club in Belleville, Ill.
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
7 Denison
2 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Apr 14
Final
9 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Apr 22
1:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championships
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championships
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championships
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

DU opens NCAC Tourney with shutout

Juan Guerra notched his 15th doubles win in DU's NCAC Quarterfinal victory.
Juan Guerra notched his 15th doubles win in DU's NCAC Quarterfinal victory.

The Denison men's tennis team opened the 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament with a convincing 5-0 victory over Wittenberg on Friday at the Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville, Ohio.  With the win, DU earned a berth in the tournament semifinals on Saturday.

The Big Red outscored the Tigers 24-2 in doubles play to grab a 3-0 lead in the match.  DU won matching 8-1 decisions at the first and second flights. The No. 1 team of senior Juan Guerra and junior Grant Veltman defeated Stas Pakhomov and Alexey Topolyanskiy, while Casey Cempre and Andrew Marczak were victorious over Jialang Woo and Mitchell Patterson at second doubles.

Denison completed the doubles sweep when Jackson O'Gorman-Bean and Jeffrey LoDuca shut out Akbar Tiwana and Dennis Gleason at No. 3 doubles.  The Big Red clinched the win with straight-set victories at third and fourth singles.  Cempre pulled DU within one point following a 6-1, 6-0 decision over Tiwana.  Veltman ended the match after posting matching 6-1 scores over Woo.

The Big Red moves to 13-6 on the year, while the Tigers fall to 11-9.  Denison will take on 23rd-ranked DePauw, who shut out Wabash in the quarterfinals, in the semifinal round of the NCAC Tournament on Saturday at 11 a.m.