No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Jan 28
TBA
Denison
at Pro-Am Fundraiser
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 10
Final
0 Denison
7 at Toledo
in Toledo, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
Final
3 Denison
6 at Findlay
in Findlay, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
9 #5 Chicago
0 vs. #33 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Mar 04
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
3 #35 Denison
6 at #19 Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 vs. Occidental
@ Scholl Canyon Tennis Club in Glendale, Calif.
Tue Mar 14
Final
4 #35 Denison
5 at Cerritos College
in Norwalk, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #34 Denison
9 vs. #3 Bowdoin
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Tue Mar 21
Final
6 #34 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 27
Final
6 #31 Lewis & Clark
3 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
11:00 AM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
6:00 PM
Denison
at Cleveland St.
in Cleveland, Ohio
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
5:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
11:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU opens NCAC Tourney with shutout

Juan Guerra notched his 15th doubles win in DU's NCAC Quarterfinal victory.
Juan Guerra notched his 15th doubles win in DU's NCAC Quarterfinal victory.

The Denison men's tennis team opened the 2014 North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament with a convincing 5-0 victory over Wittenberg on Friday at the Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville, Ohio.  With the win, DU earned a berth in the tournament semifinals on Saturday.

The Big Red outscored the Tigers 24-2 in doubles play to grab a 3-0 lead in the match.  DU won matching 8-1 decisions at the first and second flights. The No. 1 team of senior Juan Guerra and junior Grant Veltman defeated Stas Pakhomov and Alexey Topolyanskiy, while Casey Cempre and Andrew Marczak were victorious over Jialang Woo and Mitchell Patterson at second doubles.

Denison completed the doubles sweep when Jackson O'Gorman-Bean and Jeffrey LoDuca shut out Akbar Tiwana and Dennis Gleason at No. 3 doubles.  The Big Red clinched the win with straight-set victories at third and fourth singles.  Cempre pulled DU within one point following a 6-1, 6-0 decision over Tiwana.  Veltman ended the match after posting matching 6-1 scores over Woo.

The Big Red moves to 13-6 on the year, while the Tigers fall to 11-9.  Denison will take on 23rd-ranked DePauw, who shut out Wabash in the quarterfinals, in the semifinal round of the NCAC Tournament on Saturday at 11 a.m.