Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Fri Feb 09
Final
8 #9 Chicago
1 vs. Denison
@ Paramount Tennis Club in Westlake, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Westwood Racquet Club in Erie, Pa.
Sat Mar 03
Final
3 #28 Kalamazoo
6 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 21
Final
1 Hobart
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
1 Hope
8 vs. #28 Denison
@ USTA National Campus (Team USA Courts) in Orlando, Fla.
Wed Mar 28
Final
0 Wooster
9 #28 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
2 #29 Denison
7 at #9 Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Apr 04
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 at #19 Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 06
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Mo. Baptist
in Creve Coeur, Mo.
Sat Apr 07
Final
0 #29 Denison
9 vs. #10 Washington (Mo.)
@ Kings Point Sports Club in Belleville, Ill.
Tue Apr 10
Final
0 Wittenberg
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
7 Denison
2 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Apr 14
Final
9 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Apr 22
1:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championships
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championships
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sun Apr 29
TBA
Denison
vs. NCAC Championships
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Rally falls short in NCAC Final Four

Casey Cempre won his fourth-straight singles match on Saturday.
Casey Cempre won his fourth-straight singles match on Saturday.

Third-seeded Denison's rally fell short as second-seeded DePauw topped the Big Red, 5-3, on Saturday night in the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament Semifinals in Oberlin, Ohio.

The Tigers took a commanding 3-0 lead after sweeping all three doubles flights.  DePauw won the first and third flights via 8-3 and 8-5 scores, respectively.  At No. 2 doubles, Andrew Marczak and Casey Cempre were involved in a war with DePauw's David Moss and Reid Garlock.  The two teams split the first 16 points.  The tiebreaker didn't disappoint as the two pairings combined for 26 points.  In the end, Moss and Garlock edged out a 14-12 decision to complete the sweep.

Despite falling in an early 3-0 hole, the Big Red battled back to win three of the first four single flights, shrinking the deficit to 4-3.  Cempre and Shankar Rajupet posted dominant straight-set victories at first and fourth singles, respectively.  Cempre posted scores of 6-1, 6-2, while Rajupet won with matching 6-2, 6-2 scores.  Marczak also picked up a win at No. 3 singles (6-1, 9-8 [11-9]).

DePauw picked up a singles victory at the second light to make it a 4-3 match.  The Tigers secured their spot in the NCAC title match with a 6-3, 7-5 decision at No. 5 singles.

Denison falls to 11-7 on the year, while DePauw improves to 10-12.  The Big Red will take on Wittenberg in the third-place match on Sunday at 3 p.m.