No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 18
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 23
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Sep 24
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Sep 25
TBA
Denison
at ITA Central Regional
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Jan 28
TBA
Denison
at Pro-Am Fundraiser
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 10
Final
0 Denison
7 at Toledo
in Toledo, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
Final
3 Denison
6 at Findlay
in Findlay, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
9 #5 Chicago
0 vs. #33 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Mar 04
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
3 #35 Denison
6 at #19 Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 vs. Occidental
@ Scholl Canyon Tennis Club in Glendale, Calif.
Tue Mar 14
Final
4 #35 Denison
5 at Cerritos College
in Norwalk, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #34 Denison
9 vs. #3 Bowdoin
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Tue Mar 21
Final
6 #34 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 27
Final
6 #31 Lewis & Clark
3 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
2:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
11:00 AM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
6:00 PM
Denison
at Cleveland St.
in Cleveland, Ohio
Tue Apr 11
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
5:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
11:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Rally falls short in NCAC Final Four

Casey Cempre won his fourth-straight singles match on Saturday.
Casey Cempre won his fourth-straight singles match on Saturday.

Third-seeded Denison's rally fell short as second-seeded DePauw topped the Big Red, 5-3, on Saturday night in the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament Semifinals in Oberlin, Ohio.

The Tigers took a commanding 3-0 lead after sweeping all three doubles flights.  DePauw won the first and third flights via 8-3 and 8-5 scores, respectively.  At No. 2 doubles, Andrew Marczak and Casey Cempre were involved in a war with DePauw's David Moss and Reid Garlock.  The two teams split the first 16 points.  The tiebreaker didn't disappoint as the two pairings combined for 26 points.  In the end, Moss and Garlock edged out a 14-12 decision to complete the sweep.

Despite falling in an early 3-0 hole, the Big Red battled back to win three of the first four single flights, shrinking the deficit to 4-3.  Cempre and Shankar Rajupet posted dominant straight-set victories at first and fourth singles, respectively.  Cempre posted scores of 6-1, 6-2, while Rajupet won with matching 6-2, 6-2 scores.  Marczak also picked up a win at No. 3 singles (6-1, 9-8 [11-9]).

DePauw picked up a singles victory at the second light to make it a 4-3 match.  The Tigers secured their spot in the NCAC title match with a 6-3, 7-5 decision at No. 5 singles.

Denison falls to 11-7 on the year, while DePauw improves to 10-12.  The Big Red will take on Wittenberg in the third-place match on Sunday at 3 p.m.