Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 09
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Sep 10
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 16
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 17
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 29
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sat Sep 30
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Sun Oct 01
TBA
Denison
at ITA Regional Tournament
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Fri Feb 09
7:30 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Cleveland, Ohio in Cleveland, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
6:00 PM
Denison
vs. Allegheny
@ Erie, PA (Westwood Racquet Club) in Erie, Pa.
Sat Mar 03
TBA
Kalamazoo
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 19
TBA
Babson
vs. Denison
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Wed Mar 21
TBA
Hobart
vs. Denison
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
10:00 AM
Hope
vs. Denison
@ Orlando, Fla. in Orlando, Fla.
Wed Mar 28
4:30 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
10:00 AM
Denison
at Carnegie Mellon
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Wed Apr 04
4:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 06
2:00 PM
Mo. Baptist
vs. Denison
@ St. Louis, Mo.
Sat Apr 07
12:00 PM
Denison
at Washington (Mo.)
in St. Louis, Mo.
Tue Apr 10
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
5:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Apr 14
2:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sun Apr 22
1:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison shuts out Little Giants

Grant Veltman recorded his 14th doubles win against Wabash on Saturday.
Grant Veltman recorded his 14th doubles win against Wabash on Saturday.

The Big Red men's tennis team closed out the 2013 regular season with a convincing 9-0 victory over Wabash College on Saturday afternoon in Granville. With the win, Denison finishes the season with a 2-1 North Coast Athletic Conference West Division record.

DU built a 3-0 lead with a doubles sweep.  Grant Veltman and Shankar Rajupet doubled up Wade Miller and Daniel Delgado, 8-4, at the first flight, while Jackson O'Gorman-Bean and Jeffrey LoDuca easily defeated Ian Leonard and Drew Sawyer, 8-1, at No. 3 doubles.  The Little Giant tandem of Mark Troiano and Nate Koelper gave Casey Cempre and Andrew Marczak all they could handle at the second flight.  However, the DU duo prevailed with a 9-8 decision to complete the sweep.

Denison won all six singles flights in straight sets.  Cempre (6-0, 6-3), Rajupet (6-0, 6-1), Graham Gettel (6-2, 6-3) and LoDuca (6-0, 6-0) all dominated their opponents at first, fourth, fifth and sixth singles, respectively.  Veltman edged out a 7-6 decision over Delgado in the first set at No. 2 singles before posting a convincing 6-1 win in the second set.  At third singles, Marczak swept Troiano via 6-1, 7-5 scores.

Denison improves to 10-6 on the year, while Wabash falls to 15-11.  DU returns to action next weekend at the NCAC Tournament hosted by Oberlin College.  The three-day event begins on Friday.