No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Jan 28
TBA
Denison
at Pro-Am Fundraiser
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 10
Final
0 Denison
7 at Toledo
in Toledo, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
Final
3 Denison
6 at Findlay
in Findlay, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
9 #5 Chicago
0 vs. #33 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Mar 04
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
3 #35 Denison
6 at #19 Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #35 Denison
0 vs. Occidental
@ Scholl Canyon Tennis Club in Glendale, Calif.
Tue Mar 14
Final
4 #35 Denison
5 at Cerritos College
in Norwalk, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #34 Denison
9 vs. #3 Bowdoin
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Tue Mar 21
Final
6 #34 Denison
3 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 27
Final
6 #31 Lewis & Clark
3 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
7 #34 Denison
2 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
Final
2 Oberlin
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
Final
2 Denison
5 at Cleveland St.
in Cleveland, Ohio
Tue Apr 11
Final
8 Denison
1 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
Final
1 Wabash
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
5 DePauw
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
5 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
Sat Apr 29
Final
1 Denison
5 at Kenyon
NCAC Championships - Semifinals
Sun Apr 30
Final
5 Oberlin
2 vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio NCAC Championships - Third-Place Match
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison shuts out Little Giants

Grant Veltman recorded his 14th doubles win against Wabash on Saturday.
Grant Veltman recorded his 14th doubles win against Wabash on Saturday.

The Big Red men's tennis team closed out the 2013 regular season with a convincing 9-0 victory over Wabash College on Saturday afternoon in Granville. With the win, Denison finishes the season with a 2-1 North Coast Athletic Conference West Division record.

DU built a 3-0 lead with a doubles sweep.  Grant Veltman and Shankar Rajupet doubled up Wade Miller and Daniel Delgado, 8-4, at the first flight, while Jackson O'Gorman-Bean and Jeffrey LoDuca easily defeated Ian Leonard and Drew Sawyer, 8-1, at No. 3 doubles.  The Little Giant tandem of Mark Troiano and Nate Koelper gave Casey Cempre and Andrew Marczak all they could handle at the second flight.  However, the DU duo prevailed with a 9-8 decision to complete the sweep.

Denison won all six singles flights in straight sets.  Cempre (6-0, 6-3), Rajupet (6-0, 6-1), Graham Gettel (6-2, 6-3) and LoDuca (6-0, 6-0) all dominated their opponents at first, fourth, fifth and sixth singles, respectively.  Veltman edged out a 7-6 decision over Delgado in the first set at No. 2 singles before posting a convincing 6-1 win in the second set.  At third singles, Marczak swept Troiano via 6-1, 7-5 scores.

Denison improves to 10-6 on the year, while Wabash falls to 15-11.  DU returns to action next weekend at the NCAC Tournament hosted by Oberlin College.  The three-day event begins on Friday.